ERASMUS - Studying AbroadStudying Abroad - Outgoing ERASMUS

The ERASMUS Mobility Programme

From 2021, the ERASMUS Mobility programme will move into a new phase within the scope of the EU training programme, ERASMUS+.

This programme of the European Union promotes cooperation across Europe in regards to higher education, general education in schools, adult education and language learning. Funding is provided for the mobility of students and lecturers, the development of a common syllabus and the introduction of new technology within the field of teaching. Funding measures particularly focus on promoting student exchange.

Eligible to participate are: the 27 EU Member States as well as Faroe Islands, Norway, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Serbia, Switzerland, North Macedonia, Turkey, and the United Kingdom. The national agency for Germany is the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD).

Einfache Weltkarte als Umriss ohne Grenzen und die antarktische Landmasse

Inter-Institutional Agreements

ERASMUS university cooperations are based on contractual agreements between two European partners in the same academic field. The number of students, as well as the duration of periods abroad, is determined within these bilateral agreements. A period abroad must have a minimum duration of at least two months, and a maximum duration of 12 months within any one cycle. There are ERASMUS coordinators at both partner institutions, who manage and coordinate exchanges within the specific subject area.

ERASMUS Application Requirements

Students or lecturers wishing to receive an ERASMUS Mobility grant must be enrolled (as a student or doctoral candidate) at Heidelberg University. Students must fulfil all application requirements for their subject at the beginning of their period of study abroad. The following students may apply for an ERASMUS scholarship:

  • Citizens of an EU Member State or of another country which participates in the ERASMUS Programme

  • Students who have been officially recognised as a refugee or stateless person in Germany, and who have been granted permanent residence in Germany (permanent residence permit)
  • Non-EU residents, provided that they are enrolled in a full-time degree programme at Heidelberg University

The ERASMUS scholarship may be received at the same time as BAföG funding for study abroad (Auslands-BAföG) and scholarships received from public foundations. The simultaneous receipt of additional funding for periods abroad from other EU programmes is, however, prohibited.

Application Procedures

The documents in support of an application for an exchange in your subject, or one of your subjects, must be submitted to the responsible ERASMUS coordinators. The partner university should be chosen on the basis of the student’s language skills, and in particular, on the basis of subject-specific requirements. The relevant ERASMUS coordinators are responsible for selecting the students who will receive an ERASMUS scholarship. In accordance with the subject-specific nature of the exchange programme, specific application requirements are stipulated by individual faculties/institutes. It is generally the case that an application for an ERASMUS scholarship will include the applicant’s curriculum vitae, transcript of records and proof of language proficiency.

Students will be selected between December and April for periods of study abroad which will take place in the coming academic year i.e. for the winter semester of the same year and for the summer semester of the following year. For more information please contact the relevant ERASMUS coordinators, see the information notices or information on your institute’s website.

If your application was successful, your ERASMUS coordinators will register you at the relevant host university and at the international relations office. Additionally, you will receive a link for the obligatory online application in the international relation office's database.