Katharina Belting, Director
Beate Gadow, Administrative Assistant
Grabengasse 1
69117 Heidelberg
Tel. +49 6221 54-19095, -19096
Fax +49 6221 54-19097

University Council Meetings
Committees of the University Council

Committee for Education

Financial Audit Committee

Steering Committee

Advisory Participants

University Council

Unirat 2018
University Council in the 7th term of office
Absent: Prof. Dr. Marion Weissenberger-Eibl.

The University Council functions as the University’s supervisory board and serves as one of three central governing bodies alongside the Senate and the President's Office. According to the State University Law (Landeshochschulgesetz - LHG), the University Council is responsible for the strategic development of the University and recommends measures to raise its profile and increase its performance and competitiveness.

The University Council consists of a total of eleven members all of whom are appointed by the Science Minister of Baden-Württemberg. The term of office is three years. Six members, including the Chairperson of the Board, are leading figures from outside of the University. Five members, among them the Deputy Chairperson, are members of the University. The members of the President's Office, the Equal Opportunities Commissioner as well as a representative of the Ministry of Science, Research and Art Baden-Württemberg (MWK) participate in the board meetings in an advisory capacity.

Among the main responsibilities of the University Council are (1) electing both the President and the Vice-President Finance and Personnel; (2) deciding on the University’s structure and development plans, and (3) approving the annual accounts of the University including its two medical faculties. Other duties include passing resolutions on collaborations with other universities and non-university institutions; the establishment, classification, modification or dissolution of University institutions; and taking decisions on the formation of and shareholding in companies.

The University Council convenes at least four times a year. Resolutions on certain selected matters can also be achieved by written consent outside of a meeting. A number of committees have been established to address specialized issues and make recommendations to the Council. The proceedings in the University Council are governed by rules of procedure.


External Members

Saori Dubourg - Member of the Board of Executive Directors, BASF SE.

Prof. Dr. Madeleine Herren-Oesch - Director, Institute for European Global Studies, University of Basel

Professor Dr. Hanns-Peter Knaebel - Chairman University Council - President of the Executive Board and CEO Medical, Röchling SE & Co. KG

Dr. Cornelia Schu - Managing Director of the SVR and Director of the Expert Council’s Research Unit

Prof. Dr. Marion A. Weissenberger-Eibl - Head, Fraunhofer Institute for Systems and Innovation Research ISI

Dr. Bernd Welz - Chief Knowledge Officer, SAP

Internal Members

Prof. Dr. Katharina Hieke-Kubatzky - Research Group Leader, Department of Infectious Diseases

Prof. Dr. Rohini Kuner - Director, Institute of Pharmacology

Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Andreas Kruse - Vice-Chairman University Council - Director, Institute for Gerontology

Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Thomas Pfeiffer - Director, Institute for Comparative Law, Conflict of Laws and International Business Law

Erik Tuchtfeld – Student, Faculty of Law


Responsible: Office
Latest Revision: 2019-04-12
zum Seitenanfang/up