Commission for Research and Strategy

The Commission for Research and Strategy was established in the context of Excellence Initiative II as a central body to serve the needs of the special structure of the institutional strategy. Its members include two representative from each of the four Research Councils, two members of the senate, the Vice Rector for Research, and the Rector. The commission meets twice each semester and as needed.

It ensures communication between the Research Councils and the rectorate and coordinates the activities between the Fields of Focus. To this end, the commission discusses the implementation concepts of the measures and instruments of the institutional strategy and offers recommendations. It supervises the realisation of the institutional strategy, identifies newly emerging opportunities, stimulates interdisciplinary discourse, especially between the Fields of Focus, and advises the rectorate concerning new perspectives for the university. Because it is free from particular interests, the commission ensures a holistic view of the university’s growth.

The extraordinary significance of the commission results from its responsibility to recognize and promote new opportunities for interdisciplinary cooperation between the Fields of Focus. The annual meeting between the rectorate, the Academic Advisory Council and the Commission for Research and Strategy ensures an unbiased assessment of the issues and outcomes of the Excellence Initiative and the development of the university as a whole.


Prof. Dr. Thomas Rausch • Spokesperson for Research Council 1
Center for Organismal Studies (COS)

Prof. Dr. Michael Boutros • Field of Focus 1
Centre for Biomedicine and Medical Technology Mannheim (CBTM) Medical Faculty Mannheim at Heidelberg University & German Cancer Research Center (DKFZ)

Prof. Dr. Rainer Weissauer • Spokesperson for Research Council 2
Mathematical Institute

Prof. Dr. Jana Zaumseil • Field of Focus 2
Institute for Physical Chemistry (PCI)

Prof. Dr. Friederike Nüssel • Spokesperson for Research Council 3
Ecumenical Institute

Prof. Dr. Dirk Werle • Field of Focus 3
Department of German Language and Literature

Prof. Dr. Sabina Pauen • Spokesperson for Research Council 4
Institute for Psychology

Prof. Dr. Jale Tosun • Field of Focus 4
Institute for Political Science

Prof. Dr. Matthias Bartelmann • Senate representative / Commission spokesperson
Institute for Theoretical Astrophysics

Prof. Dr. Andreas Kruse • Senate representative
Institute of Gerontology

Prof. Dr. Stephen Hashmi • Vice Rector for Research and Structure
University Rectorate & Institute of Organic Chemistry

Prof. Dr. Bernhard Eitel • Rector (overall responsibility for the Institutional Strategy)
University Rectorate


Email: Editor
Latest Revision: 2017-10-10
zum Seitenanfang/up