Outstanding PersonalitiesSenior Professors at Heidelberg University

“Senior Professor” is an honorary degree, inaugurated in 2007, that can be bestowed upon a university professor following his or her retirement or the conclusion of their obligations. The rectorate decides who shall receive the title. Heidelberg University awards both “Senior Professor” and “Senior Professor Distinctus” titles.

Upon faculty request, the rectorate may give the temporary title of “Senior Professor” to a retired professor still working at the university. A Senior Professor can sign a service contract for a limited time specifying their rights and duties during their continued work at Heidelberg University. The amount and duration of duties assigned to a Senior Professor may differ from case to case.

The rectorate may bestow the title “Senior Professor Distinctus” on distinguished professors after their retirement or the conclusion of their obligations who had rendered exceptional services to the university. This is an honorary title awarded for life in cases of special merit and is unconnected to and does not demand any additional activities or duties at Heidelberg University.

Senior Professor Distinctus

  • Prof. Dr Hermann Bujard (1934–2020)
  • Prof. Dr Detlef Junker
  • Prof. Dr Paul Kirchhof
  • Prof. Dr Andreas Kruse
  • Prof. Dr Peter Meusburger (1942–2017)
  • Prof. Dr Thomas Rausch
  • Prof. Dr Jochen Tröger
  • Prof. Dr Jürgen Wolfrum

Senior Professor

  • Prof. Dr Konrad Beyreuther
  • Prof. Dr Hans Georg Bock
  • Prof. Dr Lorenz S. Cederbaum
  • Prof. Dr Gerhard Dannecker
  • Prof. Dr Rolf Gleiter
  • Prof. Dr Jadranka Gvozdanović
  • Prof. Dr Werner Hacke
  • Prof. Dr Günter Helmchen
  • Prof. Dr Eduard Hurt
  • Prof. Dr Bernd Jähne
  • Prof. Dr Hugo A. Katus
  • Prof. Dr Lothar Ledderose
  • Prof. Dr Axel Michaels
  • Prof. Dr Peter-Christian Müller-Graff
  • Prof. Dr Hartmut Remmers
  • Prof. Dr Andreas Reuter
  • Prof. Dr Rainer Sauerborn
  • Prof. Dr Lieselotte E. Saurma
  • Prof. Dr Bernd Schneidmüller
  • Prof. Dr Karlheinz Sonntag
  • Prof. Dr Uwe Strähle
  • Prof. Dr Hans-Werner Wahl
  • Prof. Dr Michael Welker
  • Prof. Dr Felix Wieland
  • Prof. Dr Michael Wink