European University AllianceNew Partner for 4EU+

4 July 2023

Paris-Panthéon-Assas University joins the pan-European university alliance

With Université Paris-Panthéon-Assas, the 4EU+ European University Alliance has gained a further top-level research university as a partner. As of 1 July 2023, the Paris university belongs to the pan-European university alliance which, besides Heidelberg University, also comprises the universities of Prague, Sorbonne/Paris, Copenhagen, Geneva, Milan and Warsaw. The 4EU+ Governing Board voted unanimously to enlarge the alliance. Being a research-intensive, internationally oriented university with a strong focus on law, Paris-Panthéon-Assas University is expected to contribute to sharpening the academic profile and enhancing the network of the 4EU+ Alliance.

Paris-Panthéon-Assas University with over 23,000 students at four locations – besides Paris it has campuses in Singapore, Mauritius and Dubai – is regarded as a direct successor to the law faculty of the historical university of Paris, the Sorbonne, founded in the 12th century. Besides law, it offers study courses in political science, economics, management, and information and communication sciences. With strategic inter-university agreements, transnational study courses and a large international student community, Paris-Panthéon-Assas University is considered a leader in the area of internationalisation.

“Paris-Panthéon-Assas University is a social science university with a strong focus on law, but it is looking to invest more in multidisciplinary research on topical issues such as sustainable development and artificial intelligence, as well as in the European degree. Our entry into 4EU+ is a valuable asset that will enable us to boost our research and teaching in this direction,” states Prof. Dr Stéphane Braconnier, President of Paris-Panthéon-Assas University.

The 4EU+ European University Alliance, originally 4EU, was founded in March 2018 by Charles University in Prague, Heidelberg University, Sorbonne University in Paris and the University of Warsaw, and in October 2018 became 4EU+ with the addition of the University of Copenhagen and the University of Milan. The University of Geneva has been a member of the alliance since August 2022. The group is one of the university alliances that receive funding in the context of the Erasmus+ call “European Universities”. The vision of the 4EU+ Alliance is that of a “European University” on the pattern of a comprehensive research university that connects the students, teachers and researchers at the partner universities.

By supporting strategic higher education partnerships and building up an integrated university system, the European Commission pursues the goal of clustering research, teaching and innovation in Europe in new structures, thereby modernising and strengthening the European Education Area and increasing its visibility worldwide.