Communications and Marketing
Grabengasse 1
69117 Heidelberg
Phone +49 6221 54-19012
Fax +49 6221 54-19020

Map (Ger)

Home > University >  History >

Senior Professors at Heidelberg University

“Senior Professor” is an honorary degree, inaugurated in 2007, that can be bestowed upon a university professor following his or her retirement or the conclusion of their obligations. The rectorate decides who shall receive the title. Heidelberg University awards both “Senior Professor” and “Senior Professor Distinctus” titles.

Upon faculty request, the rectorate may give the temporary title of “Senior Professor” to a retired professor still working at the university. A Senior Professor can sign a service contract for a limited time specifying their rights and duties during their continued work at Heidelberg University. The amount and duration of duties assigned to a Senior Professor may differ from case to case.

The rectorate may bestow the title “Senior Professor Distinctus” on distinguished professors after their retirement or the conclusion of their obligations who had rendered exceptional services to the university. This is an honorary title awarded for life in cases of special merit and is unconnected to and does not demand any additional activities or duties at Heidelberg University.


Senior Professor Distinctus

Prof. Dr. Hermann Bujard

Prof. Dr. Detlef Junker

Prof. Dr. Paul Kirchhof

Prof. Dr. Peter Meusburger (1942 - 2017)

Prof. Dr. Jochen Tröger

Prof. Dr. Jürgen Wolfrum


Senior Professor

Prof. Dr. Konrad Beyreuther

Prof. Dr. Lorenz S. Cederbaum

Prof. Dr. Eckhard Dinjus

Prof. Dr. Rolf Gleiter

Prof. Dr. Jadranka Gvozdanović

Prof. Dr. Werner Hacke

Prof. Dr. Gerhard Härle

Prof. Dr. Günter Helmchen

Prof. Dr. Lothar Ledderose

Prof. Dr. Karl F. Mann

Prof. Dr. Axel Michaels

Prof. Dr. Peter-Christian Müller-Graff

Prof. Dr. Andreas Reuter

Prof. Dr. Rainer Sauerborn

Prof. Dr. Lieselotte E. Saurma

Prof. Dr. Karlheinz Sonntag

Prof. Dr. Rudolf Wagner

Prof. Dr. Hans-Werner Wahl

Prof. Dr. Stefan Weinfurter (1945 - 2018)

Prof. Dr. Michael Welker

Prof. Dr. Albrecht Winnacker

E-Mail: Editor
Latest Revision: 2018-11-07
zum Seitenanfang/up