Field of Focus IVResearch Council


Field of Focus 4 is represented by a Research Council (RC) that stimulates and coordinates interdisciplinary activities in research and teaching.

The Research Council comprises eleven full members: each faculty delegates three members and an expert from an institution outside of Heidelberg University. The members of Field of Focus 4 elect a spokesperson to represent them in the university’s Research and Strategy Commission and in the public at large. The members and spokesperson are elected for a term of three years, and may be re-elected.


Prof. Dr. Silke Hertel

Deputy Head

Prof. Dr. Jan Rummel

Scientific Managing Director

Silvia Huber-Grahl
Phone +49 6221 54-7324

External Members


Prof. Dr. Melanie Arntz
ZEW Mannheim
Prof. Dr. Ulrich Ebner-Priemer
Karlsruher Institute of Technologie
Dr. Carolin Hahnel
Leibniz-Institut für Bildungsforschung und Bildungsinformation
Prof. Dr. Anne Peters, LL.M.
Max Planck Institute for Comparative Public Law and International Law
Prof. Dr. Jeanette Roos
Heidelberg University of Education, Institute of Psychology