governing bodies of Heidelberg UniversityTwo New Members of the University Council

13 October 2021

Eighth period of office begins – Hanns-Peter Knaebel continues as chair of the University Council

The University Council of Ruperto Carola continues its work in an eighth period of office with two newly elected members – Dr Annette Julius und Prof. Dr Matthias Bartelmann. After the endorsement of their election by the Senate of Heidelberg University, the Baden-Württemberg Ministry of Science, Research and the Arts has appointed the new members and likewise the five re-elected members of the University Council. They are Saori Dubourg, Prof. Dr Katharina Hieke-Kubatzky, Prof. Dr Hanns-Peter Knaebel, Prof. Dr Rohini Kuner and Dr Cornelia Schu. Prof. Knaebel continues as chair. Prof. Dr Thomas Pfeiffer was appointed deputy chair by the Council at its meeting on 12 October 2021. The University Council has eleven members of which five belong to the university and six are external. The term of office is three years.

  • Show full screen mode

    Dr. Annette Julius
  • Show full screen mode

    Prof. Dr. Matthias Bartelmann

External members

Saori Dubourg, member of the BASF SE Board of Executive Directors and responsible for Crop Protection, Construction Chemicals and Bioscience Research, as well as the Europe region (re-elected, on the University Council since 2018)

Dr Annette Julius, General Secretary of the scholarship agency Studienstiftung des deutschen Volkes (newly elected)

Prof. Dr Hanns-Peter Knaebel, CEO of Biotronik SE & Co. KG (re-elected, on the University Council since 2012)

Dr Cornelia Schu, Managing Director of the Expert Council on Integration and Migration (SVR) and director of the SVR research unit (re-elected, on the University Council since 2015)

Prof. Dr Marion A. Weissenberger-Eibl, Director of the Fraunhofer Institute for Systems and Innovation Research (Karlsruhe) and holder of the chair of Innovation and Technology Management at the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (on the University Council since 2016)

Eva Zauke, Senior Vice President and Global Head of SAP Enterprise Adoption (on the University Council since 2020)

Internal members

Prof. Dr Matthias Bartelmann, astrophysicist at the Institute of Theoretical Physics (newly elected onto the University Council)

Prof. Dr Katharina Hieke-Kubatzky, head of a working group at the Department of Infectious Diseases of Heidelberg University Hospital (re-elected, on the University Council since 2015)

Prof. Dr Rohini Kuner, Managing Director of the Institute of Pharmacology (re-elected, on the University Council since 2018)

Leon Köpfle, student of law (on the University Council since 2020)

Prof. Dr Thomas Pfeiffer, Director of the Institute for Comparative Law, Conflict of Laws and International Business Law at Heidelberg University (on the University Council since 2014)

The University Council is, with the Rectorate and the Senate, one of the three central governing bodies of Heidelberg University. According to the State Higher Education Act, it bears responsibility for the development of the university; and makes proposals to raise the latter’s profile and increase its performance and competitiveness. The most important tasks of the University Council include electing the Rector and the Kanzler, deciding on structural and development plans, and approving the annual financial statements of the university and the two medical faculties.

Further Information