Manfred Lautenschlaeger Award For Theological PromiseTheology: Distinction for Ten Young Scholars

Press Release No. 42/2024
6 May 2024

Presentation of “Manfred Lautenschlaeger Award for Theological Promise”

Ten young scholars from Germany, Switzerland, the United Kingdom and the USA are to be honored for their outstanding dissertations or first postdoctoral book publication on the topic of “God and Spirituality”. They have been selected to receive the “Manfred Lautenschlaeger Award for Theological Promise”, which comes with prize money of 3,000 euros each. To mark the occasion, the Research Center for International and Interdisciplinary Theology (FIIT) of Ruperto Carola is hosting an award ceremony on Friday 10 May 2024. A colloquium featuring the prize-winners will follow, with participants including FIIT members and some of the 20 international referees who evaluated the scholarly publications submitted.

The award ceremony will be opened by the Rector of Heidelberg University, Prof. Dr Frauke Melchior, followed by greetings from Prof. Dr Jan Stievermann, Dean of the Faculty of Theology, and FIIT Director Prof. Dr Dr Michael Welker. Markus Lautenschläger will speak on behalf of the prize donor, Honorary Senator Dr h.c. Manfred Lautenschläger, and his foundation. Then three Heidelberg theologians will present the recipients and their publications, before the prizes are awarded. The keynote lecture in English will be given by Prof. Dr Andreas Unterberg, scientist at the Medical Faculty Heidelberg and former Director of the Department of Neurosurgery at Heidelberg University Hospital. Prof. Unterberg will address the topic “Mainstays and Conflicts of Decision-Making in Surgery – Is there a Role for Theological Promise?“

Those receiving the distinction for 2024 are Lloyd D. Barba (University of Michigan, Ann Arbor), Warren Campbell (University of Notre Dame), Nathan Johnson (Princeton Theological Seminary), Judith König (University of Regensburg), Yael Landman (Yeshiva University, New York), Mark Letteney (Princeton University), Sarah Parkhouse (Durham University), Michael Pfenninger (University of Zurich), Dorothee Schenk (University of Göttingen) and Erin Zoutendam (Duke University, Durham). During the colloquium they will present future research projects and discuss them with the referees and members of the Research Center for International and Interdisciplinary Theology.

The “Manfred Lautenschlaeger Award for Theological Promise” goes annually to ten young scholars from all over the world working in different disciplines, such as theology, philosophy, religious studies, ethics and related subjects.

Note for newsrooms

The presentation of this year’s “Manfred Lautenschlaeger Award for Theological Promise” will be held on 10 May 2024 in the Great Hall of the Old University, starting at 3 p.m. Representatives of the media are warmly invited to attend and report on it. The colloquium with the prize-winners will take place from 11 to 13 May in the International Academic Forum of Heidelberg University. If you would like to attend and report on this event, the organisers ask that you please register by calling +49 6221 54-3393 or by sending an email to fiit.sekretariat@ts.uni-heidelberg.de.