Home >

Diversity in Teaching

Recommendations for diversity-sensitive online teaching

 

The coronavirus pandemic has turned all our lives upside down. Along with it, working life has changed significantly, too. Who would have thought a year ago that working from home would become the standard and that teaching at the University would mostly take place online? As lecturers, many of you are confronted with additional burdens: switching to online teaching, dealing with the closure of day-care centres and schools, maybe you have a higher risk of a serious progression of COVID-19 yourself, or maybe you are worried about relatives who are ill. One thing is for sure: The coronavirus crisis has amplified existing inequalities. This also affects students.

This is why we have prepared a document with recommendations to support you in online teaching. It can be accessed here.


 

HSE Online Tutorial: Gender and Diversity in Teacher Education

 

“Tolerance and Acceptance of Diversity” – this is the perspective guiding Baden-Wuerttemberg’s Education Plan 2016. It is designed to promote anti-discrimination, self-discovery and critical reflection on prejudices, stereotypes and clichés at schools in the state. But how do we get from the principles as defined in the Education Plan to their implementation at school? What needs to be kept in mind?

The online tutorial “Gender and Diversity in Teacher Education,” which is being developed as part of the “HSE: Go digital! Now!” collaborative project, is concerned with precisely these questions. More information on the HSE’s project can be found here.


Gender & diversty studies

 

A detailed list of all current university courses on the topic of gender and diversity can be found here.


Announcement: Financing “Diversity Innovations” teaching assignments

 

In the “University of Excellence, Diversity and Equal Opportunities” programme of the University of Excellence application, the next item on the agenda is to promote the consideration of the topic of diversity in the subject fields, too. With the “Diversity Innovations” programme, the Equal Opportunities Office finances teaching assignments from all institutes that are concerned in a subject-specific manner with diversity dimensions such as gender, age, cultural background or worldview, socioeconomic background, disability/chronic illness and sexual orientation.

Teaching assignments that look at multiple dimensions of diversity (“intersectionality”) are especially welcome.

Applications from STEM disciplines are also very welcome.

Application and approval process:

Starting now, please submit your applications by email to gleichstellungsbuero@uni-heidelberg.de. There is no preset application form but the application should contain a description of the contents of the planned teaching assignment, perhaps you can already name a person that could teach the course.

 

If your application is approved, the Equal Opportunities Office will cover the cost of the teaching assignment, the organisational implementation of the teaching assignments remains the responsibility of the respective institutes.

 

If you have any questions, please contact

 

Dr Agnes Speck, Office Management
agnes.speck@uni-heidelberg.de

 

Evelyn Kuttikattu, Diversity Management
evelyn.kuttikattu@uni-heidelberg.de

 

Responsible: E-Mail
Latest Revision: 2021-04-21
zum Seitenanfang/up

Diversity in der Lehre

Empfehlungen für eine vielfaltssensible digitale Lehre

Die Corona-Pandemie stellt unser aller Leben auf den Kopf. Auch das Berufsleben hat sich massiv verändert. Wer hätte vor einem Jahr gedacht, dass Home-Office zum Standard wird und die Lehre an der Universität überwiegend digital stattfindet? Als Lehrende sind viele von Ihnen großen Mehrbelastungen ausgesetzt, durch die Umstellung auf digitale Lehrangebote, durch Kita- und Schulschließungen und vielleicht gehören Sie ja selbst zu einer Covid-19-Risikogruppe oder bangen um erkrankte Angehörige. Fest steht: Die Corona-Krise verstärkt existierende Ungleichheiten. Das gilt auch für Studierende.

Aus diesem Grund haben wir Ihnen zur Unterstützung der derzeitigen online Lehre ein Empfehlungsschreiben zusammengestellt, dass Sie hier aufrufen können.


HSE Online-Tutorial: Gender und Diversity in der Lehrkräfteausbildung

„Toleranz und Akzeptanz für Vielfalt“ – so lautet die Leitperspektive des baden-württembergischen Bildungsplans 2016. Sie soll Antidiskriminierung, Selbstfindung und den kritischen Umgang mit Vorurteilen, Stereotypen, Klischees in den Schulen des Landes fördern. Doch wie gelangt man von den Prinzipien, die im Bildungsplan definiert werden, zu ihrer Umsetzung in der schulischen Praxis? Was ist dabei zu beachten?

Diesen Fragen widmet sich das Online-Tutorial „Gender und Diversity in der Lehrkräftebildung“, das im Rahmen des Verbundprojekts „HSE: Go digital! Now!“ entwickelt wird. Mehr Informationen zu dem Projekt der HSE finden Sie hier.


Gender & Diversity Studies

Eine ausführliche Liste aller aktuellen Lehrveranstaktungen zu Gender & Diversity finden sie hier.


Ausschreibung: Finanzierung Lehraufträge "Diversity Innovations"

In dem Programm des Exzellenzantrags „Exzellenzuniversität, Diversity and Equal Opportunities“ steht es an, die Auseinandersetzung mit dem Thema Diversity/Vielfalt auch in den Fachinhalten zu fördern. Mit dem Programm „Diversity Innovations“ übernimmt das Gleichstellungsbüro die Finanzierung von Lehraufträgen aus allen Instituten, die sich fachspezifisch mit Vielfaltsdimensionen wie Geschlecht, Alter, kultureller oder weltanschaulicher Hintergrund, sozioökonomische Herkunft, Behinderung/chronische Krankheit und sexuelle Orientierung auseinandersetzen.

Besonders willkommen sind Lehraufträge die sich mit der Verschränkung mehrerer Vielfaltsdimensionen beschäftigen („Intersektionalität“).

Bewerbungen aus dem MINT-Bereich werden ebenfalls sehr gerne angenommen.

Bewerbung und Bewilligungsverfahren:

Bitte bewerben Sie sich ab sofort formlos per Email an gleichstellungsbuero@uni-heidelberg.de mit einer Beschreibung der Inhalte des geplanten Lehrauftrags, eventuell können Sie auch bereits eine Person nennen, die die Lehre übernehmen kann.

Bei positivem Bescheid übernimmt das Gleichstellungsbüro die Kosten für den Lehrauftrag, die organisatorische Abwicklung der Verträge bleibt bei den jeweiligen Instituten.

 

Bei Fragen wenden Sie sich bitte an

 

Dr. Agnes Speck, Büroleitung
agnes.speck@uni-heidelberg.de

 

Evelyn Kuttikattu, Diversity Management
evelyn.kuttikattu@uni-heidelberg.de

Verantwortlich: E-Mail
Letzte Änderung: 21.04.2021
zum Seitenanfang/up