Seal of the month







I 107 1b






 

 

 

 
Read more...

 

 
New finds/Seals not in the CMS

More than fifty seals in Pylos!

Read more...

 
New Publications

Krzyszkowska, O., 2017....

Read more...

 
Other News

Inauguration of the CMS in Heidelberg with lecture of Ingo Pini!

Read more...

 

Geschichte

Das CMS wurde 1958 von Friedrich Matz, Professor für Klassische Archäologie an der Universität Marburg, gegründet. Matz war der Meinung, dass Siegelikonographie bedeutend für das Verständnis der ägäischen Welt sei und erkannte die Notwendigkeit eines umfassenden Werks zur standardisierten Dokumentation ägäischer Siegel. Mit Marburg als Hauptstandort war das Projekt 1958–2011 unter der Leitung der Akademie der Wissenschaften und der Literatur Mainz aktiv.

 

Frmatz

Friedrich Matz

Laut Matz‘ Publikationsplan sollten die Siegel in Bänden nach Aufbewahrungsorten erscheinen. Matz‘ ehemaliger Schüler Hagen Biesantz, der eine Promotion über mykenische Siegel verfasst hatte, koordinierte die Arbeit in Griechenland. Carl Albiker wurde als Projektfotograf ausgewählt und Piet de Jong und Antonis Papailiopoulos als Zeichner. Bis 1967 blieb Biesantz Matz‘ Mitherausgeber.

1965 stieß ein weiterer ehemaliger Schüler von Matz, Ingo Pini, der kürzliche seine Promotion über minoische Bestatttungssitten abgeschlossen hatte, zum Projekt dazu. Pini begann als Assistent der Herausgeberschaft, 1969 wurde er Mitherausgeber und 1975 Herausgeber der Reihe. Von Beginn an legte Pini großen Wert auf Grundlagenforschung, umfassende Publikationen und eine systematische Herangehensweise an das Material. Daher begründete er ein Archiv an Abdrücken/Abgüssen für alle Siegel, die bereits publiziert waren oder noch in der Reihe veröffentlicht werden sollten. Nach einiger Zeit entwickelte er eine eigene Methode, die Siegel zu fotografieren und bildete eine Zeichnerin im Zeichnen der Siegel aus. Später erweiterte er Matz‘ Publikationsplan, indem er ihn um eine Reihe von Bänden mit neuen Funden erweiterte (CMS V Suppl. 1–3).

1971 erlaubten Fördergelder der Volkswagen Stiftung die Anstellung eines zweiten Archäologen. In den darauffolgenden Jahren wurde diese Stelle, die später aus Fördergeldern der Akademie in Mainz fortgesetzt wurde, von mehreren Wissenschaftlern besetzt. 1985 stieß Walter Müller, der zu dieser Zeit gerade seine Abschlussarbeit über spätminoische Keramik fertigstellte, zum Marburg Projekt. Müller blieb bis zum Projektende 2011 dabei. 2003 wurde er nach Pinis Eintritt in den Ruhestand Mitherausgeber des CMS.

Während Pini im CMS arbeitete, unternahm er intensive Studien des Materials, das er publizierte. Mit der Zeit wurde er äußerst sachkundig in stilistischen und ikonographischen Aspekten des Materials und er wurde als Experte im Bereich der ägäischen Glyptik anerkannt. Müller hingegen widmete seine Studien der Untersuchung von Siegelabdrücken als Objekten, was bis zu seinem Eintritt in das Projekt nicht durchgängig dokumentiert worden war. Er wurde zum Experten für die Materialien, die in der ägäischen Glyptik verwendet wurden und die bis zu diesem Zeitpunkt häufig falsch und unbeständig identifiziert worden waren. Aufgrund seiner Vorkenntnisse aus dem Ingenieurwesen, führte Müller technische Methoden zur Untersuchung ägäischer Siegel ein, wie z.B. die Röntgenfotografie von metallenen Siegelringen. In den 26 Jahren ihrer gemeinsamen Arbeit, reisten die Kollegen jedes Jahr für mehrere Monate durch griechische Museen und sammelten Material zur Publikation in den CMS Bänden.

Pini-m _ller-siegelsymposium-marburg-2008

Ingo Pini und Walter Müller beim 6. Internationalen Symposium des CMS in Marburg, 2008.

 
Schanallee 2

Das Gebäude des CMS in den letzten Jahren des Projekts in Marburg (Fotografie: Olga Krzyszkowska)

1986 begannen Pini und Müller mit der Unterstützung des Archäologen und Programmierers Stefan Wildt die Arbeit an SPHRAGIS, einer Datenbank, die alle publizierten Siegel der CMS Reihe beinhalten sollte. Dieses Projekt wurde jedoch nach dem unerwarteten Tod Stefan Wildts abgebrochen und erst 2005 von Walter Müller wiederaufgenommen. Die neue Datenbank war eine reduzierte Version der ursprünglichen SPHRAGIS, beinhaltete dafür aber im Gegenzug zum ursprünglichen Projekt Bilder der Siegel. Diese waren nun verfügbar, nachdem Fördergelder des Institute for Aegean Prehistory in Philadelphia die Digitalisierung aller im Archiv aufbewahrter Abbildungen ermöglicht hatten. Müller erschuf außerdem eine Datenbank der Siegelabdrücke. 2007 wurden die CMS Datenbanken in ARACHNE implementiert, der zentralen Objektdatenbank des Deutschen Archäologischen Instituts und des Archäologischen Instituts der Universität Köln. Am Ende des Projekts 2011 waren überarbeitete Daten über alle in der CMS Reihe publizierten Siegel auf der Datenbank veröffentlicht worden.

Beginnend in den 1970er Jahren wurden sechs internationale Symposien zur ägäischen Glyptik vom CMS organisiert. Das letzte fand 2008 aus Anlass des 50. Jahrestags des CMS statt. Außerdem wurden vier Promotionsarbeiten am Standort Marburg verfasst.

Heute besteht die CMS Reihe aus 25 Katalog- und neun Supplementbänden, die zwischen 1966 und 2011 publiziert worden sind.

Editor: Email
Latest Revision: 22.08.2017
zum Seitenanfang/up

Seal of the month







 Test






 

 

 

 
Read more...

 

 
New finds/Seals not in the CMS

Unparalleled find in Pylos!

Read more...

 
New Publications

Stocker, S. – J. Davis 2017 ...

Read more...

 
Other News

More CMS volumes online...

Read more...

 

History

The CMS was founded in 1958 by Friedrich Matz who was a professor of classical archaeology at the University of Marburg. Matz considered seal iconography crucial for understanding the Aegean world and saw the existence of a collective work documenting Aegean seals in a standardized way as necessary. With headquarters at Marburg, the project was active from 1958-2011 under the direction of the Akademie der Wissenschaften und der Literatur in Mainz.

Frmatz

Friedrich Matz

According to Matz’s publication plan, the seals would be ordered in volumes according to where they are kept. For the publication of the first volumes, Matz’s former student Hagen Biesantz, who had published a thesis on Mycenaean seals, coordinated work in Greece. Carl Albiker was chosen as project photographer and Piet de Jong and Antonis Papailiopoulos as  draughtsmen. Biesantz remained Matz’s co-editor until 1967.

In 1965, another former student of Matz, Ingo Pini, who had recently completed a doctoral thesis on Minoan burial customs, joined the project. Pini started as an editorial assistant but in 1969 he became co-editor and in 1975 editor of the series. From the start, Pini felt the need for primary research, comprehensive publication, and a systematic approach to the material. For this reason, he started creating an archive of impressions/casts for all the seals that were already or were going to be published in the series. After some time, he developed his own methods for photographing seals himself and trained a draughtswoman in drawing seals. Later, he expanded Matz's publication plan by including a series of volumes containing new finds (CMS V Suppl. 1-3).

In 1971, a grant from the Volkswagen Stiftung allowed for the employment of a second archaeologist. In the years that followed, this post, which was later continued by funds of the Academy in Mainz, was held by several scholars. In 1985, Walter Müller, who was at the time completing a thesis on LM pottery, joined the Marburg project. Müller stayed on until the end in 2011. In 2003 and after Pini’s retirement, he became co-editor of the CMS.

While working at the CMS, Pini became engaged in an intensive study of the material he was publishing. With time, he became very proficient in stylistic and iconographical aspects of the material and was considered  an expert in the field of Aegean glyptic. Müller, on the other hand, devoted his efforts to the study of sealings as objects which were, up to the point where he joined the project, not consistently documented as such. Moreover, he became an expert in the materials used in Aegean glyptic which were at that time often falsely and inconsistently identified. Having previous experience in engineering, Müller also introduced the use of technical methods for the study of Aegean glyptic, such as X-ray photographing of metal signet rings. In their 26 years of work together, the pair travelled for months each year to museums all over Greece collecting material to be published in the CMS volumes.

Pini-m _ller-siegelsymposium-marburg-2008
Ingo Pini and Walter Müller at the sixth international symposium of the CMS in Marburg, 2008
Schanallee 2
The building of the CMS in the last years of the project in Marburg (Photograph: Olga Krzyszkowska)

In 1986, and with the help of the archaeologist and programmer Stefan Wildt, Pini and Müller started work on SPHRAGIS, a database meant to include all seals published in the CMS volumes. This project was suspended after the sudden death of Stefan Wildt and was only resumed by Walter Müller in 2005. The new database was a pared-down version of the initial SPHRAGIS but unlike the initial project also contained the images of the seals. These were available after an earlier grant by the Institute for Aegean Prehistory in Philadelphia had allowed for all the images kept at the archive to be recorded in digital form. Moreover, Müller also created a database for the sealings. In 2007 the CMS Databases were intergrated in ARACHNE, the Central Object-Database of the German Archaeological Institute and the Archaeological Institute of the University of Cologne. By the end of the project in 2011, revised data on all seals published in the CMS volumes had been imported in the seal database.

Starting in the 1970s and with the last symposium taking place in 2008 on the occasion of the 50th anniversary of the CMS, six international symposia on the topic of Aegean glyptic have been organized by the CMS. Furthermore, four doctoral theses were completed at the study centre in Marburg.

Today the CMS Series comprises 25 catalogue and 9 supplementary volumes published between 1966 and 2011.

 

Editor: Email
Latest Revision: 2017-08-22
zum Seitenanfang/up