14th International Conference of Demotic Studies, Heidelberg 31.08 - 04.09.2020

First Circular

german version
ICDS 2020 Logo

Heidelberg, July 04, 2019

Dear colleagues,

we are pleased to invite you all to Heidelberg on occasion of the 14th International Conference of Demotic Studies (ICDS) from August 31 to September 04, 2020.

We dedicate this conference to the great Demotist Wilhelm Spiegelberg in order to honor his out-standing achievements in the field of Demotic Studies and to commemorate the 100th anniversary of his call to the Egyptological Institute of the University of Heidelberg.
Furthermore, we will celebrate the 110th anniversary of the Heidelberg Egyptological Institute that was founded in 1910 under the chair of Hermann Ranke.

Wilhelm Spiegelberg, who habilitated at the University of Strasbourg in 1894 and became the head of the Egyptological Institute in 1907, had to resign from his office and leave Strasbourg due to the French occupation of Alsace-Lorraine and the conclusion of the Treaty of Versailles. He moved to Heidelberg and from 1920 to 1923 was affiliated to the Egyptological Institute as honorary professor under the chair of Herman Ranke. During his time at the Egyptological Institute in Heidelberg, Wilhelm Spiegelberg completed his Coptic Dictionary (1921), published numerous Demotic texts, such as the "Demotische Papyri aus den badischen Papyrussammlungen" (1923) and also developed and wrote a large part of his Demotic Grammar (1925), which went far beyond the "Grammaire démotique" pub-lished by Heinrich Karl Brugsch in 1855 and rightfully made Wilhelm Spiegelberg the new founder of Demotic Studies.

To help you plan your stay, we would like to inform you in this 1st Circular that the conference will start on Monday, August 31, in the afternoon and will end on Friday, September 04, around noon. Exact details on the dates, the program, modalities of the poster presentation, hotels, accommodation for students, child care as well as the conference fee will be communicated to you soon in a 2nd circular.
The duration of the conference talks will be about 30 minutes. To a limited extent, posters can also be presented during the conference. Lecture titles and abstracts can already be sent to us via email (ICDS2020@zaw.uni-heidelberg.de), the deadline is February 29, 2020.

We would also like to draw your attention to the fact that the Heidelberg Institute of Papyrology is planning to hold the "German Papyrology Day (Deutscher Papyrologentag)" following the 14th International Conference of Demotic Studies (ICDS).

We look forward to welcoming you to Heidelberg in 2020.

With kind regards
Your ICDS team

Prof. Dr. Joachim Quack Fabian Wespi Jannik Korte Dr. Claudia Maderna-Sieben

and all helpers from the Egyptological Institute


 
Seitenbearbeiter: E-Mail
Letzte Änderung: 04.07.2019
zum Seitenanfang/up

14. Internationale Konferenz für Demotische Studien, Heidelberg 31.08 - 04.09.2020

Erster Rundbrief

english version
ICDS 2020 Logo

Heidelberg, 04.07.2019

Sehr geehrte Kolleginnen und Kollegen,

wir freuen uns, Sie zur 14. Internationalen Konferenz für Demotische Studien (ICDS) vom 31. August bis 04. September 2020 nach Heidelberg einladen zu dürfen.

Diese Konferenz widmen wir dem großen Demotisten Wilhelm Spiegelberg und möchten damit nicht nur seine herausragenden Leistungen für die Demotistik ehren, sondern auch an das 100. Jubiläum seines Aufenthaltes am Ägyptologischen Institut Heidelberg erinnern.
Darüber hinaus möchten wir auch das 110. Jubiläum des Ägyptologischen Instituts selbst feiern, das von der Universität Heidelberg im Oktober 1910 unter Leitung von Hermann Ranke neu gegründet wurde.

Wilhelm Spiegelberg, der 1894 an der Universität Straßburg habilitierte und dort seit 1907 als Ordinarius das Ägyptologische Institut leitetet, musste, bedingt durch die französische Besatzung von Elsass-Lothringen und den Abschluss des Versailler Vertrages, sein Ordinariat niederlegen und Straßburg verlassen. Er siedelte nach Heidelberg über und wurde von der Universität Heidelberg von 1920 bis 1923 als Honorarprofessor dem Ägyptologischen Institut unter dem Ordinariat von Hermann Ranke angegliedert. In seiner Zeit am Ägyptologischen Institut Heidelberg stellte Wilhelm Spiegelberg nicht nur sein „Koptisches Handwörterbuch (1921)“ fertig, edierte zahlreiche demotische Texte, wie die „Demotischen Papyri aus den badischen Papyrussammlungen (1923)“, sondern erarbeitete und verfasste auch einen großen Teil seiner „Demotischen Grammatik (1925)“, die weit über die von Heinrich Karl Brugsch 1855 veröffentlichte „Grammaire démotique“ hinausführte und Wilhelm Spiegelberg zurecht zum Neubegründer der Demotistik machte.

Damit Sie Ihre Reise besser planen können, möchten wir Sie in diesem 1. Rundbrief möglichst früh darüber informieren, dass die Konferenz am Montag, den 31. August, nachmittags beginnt und am Freitag, den 04. September, mittags endet. Einzelheiten zu Programm, Hotels, Übernachtungsmöglichkeiten für Studierende, Kinderbetreuung sowie über die Höhe der zu entrichtenden Konferenzgebühr werden wir Ihnen in einem zweiten Rundschreiben mitteilen.
Die Dauer der Konferenzvorträge wird etwa 30 Min. betragen und in begrenztem Umfang können während der Konferenz auch Poster präsentiert werden. Sie können uns bereits jetzt und bis zum 29. Februar 2020 Ihren Vortragstitel mit Abstract an unsere E-Mail-Adresse (ICDS2020@zaw.uni-heidelberg.de) zusenden.

Wir möchten Sie auch darauf aufmerksam machen, dass das Institut für Papyrologie Heidelberg plant, den „Deutschen Papyrologentag“ im Anschluss an den 14. Internationalen Konferenz für Demotische Studien (ICDS) abzuhalten.

Wir freuen uns sehr Sie 2020 hoffentlich zahlreich in Heidelberg begrüßen zu dürfen.

Mit herzlichen Grüßen
Ihr ICDS Team

Prof. Dr. Joachim Quack Fabian Wespi Jannik Korte Dr. Claudia Maderna-Sieben

und alle Helfer des Ägyptologischen Instituts Heidelberg


 
Seitenbearbeiter: E-Mail
Letzte Änderung: 04.07.2019
zum Seitenanfang/up