Seal of the month

Eistonafro





 








 

 

 

 
Read more...

 

 
New finds/Seals not in the CMS

The Seals from the Minoan Site of Chryssi Island...

Read more...

 
New Publications

Van de Moortel, Aleydis. 2017. A new typology of Bronze Age Aegean ships: developments in Aegean shipbuilding in their historical context...

Read more...

 
Other News

Workshop: Seals, Stamps, and Administration. Digitizing Bureaucracy – Preserving Heritage

Read more...

 

Sammlungen

Abdrücke/Abgüsse

Siegel werden immer anhand ihres Negativs untersucht, sprich anhand ihrer Abdrücke. Der Grund dafür ist die Tatsache, dass sowohl das Motiv als auch die Siegelschneidetechnik im Abdruck einfacherer zu beurteilen sind, da ihre Wahrnehmung nicht durch die Farbe und Textur des verwendeten Materials beeinflusst wird.

Das CMS Archiv enthält Abdrücke von über 12.000 verschiedenen Siegelflächen. Diese wurden entweder von den Siegeln selbst oder von ihren antiken Abdrücken gemacht. Das Archiv enthält außerdem Abgüsse von den Rückseiten der Träger antiker Siegelabdrücke, die diese Objekte, wie auch vorhandene antike Fingerabdrücke ins Positiv kehren (ausgewählte Daten). Diese umfassende Sammlung bietet Forschern der Glyptik die einzigartige Möglichkeit, vergleichende Studien des ägäischen glyptischen Materials anzustellen, das sich in Sammlungen auf der ganzen Welt befindet.

 

Material der Abdrücke/Abgüsse

Die Materialien, die hauptsächlich für die Herstellung von Abdrücken/Abgüssen verwendet werden, sind Plastilin, Silikon und Gips. Bei der Aufnahme von Siegeln wird Plastilin vor allem für Abdrücke mit flachen bis mittel-tiefen Intaglios verwendet, wohingegen Silikon für das Abdrücken tiefer Intaglios geeignet ist, da Plastilin dort nur schwer eindringen kann. Beide Materialien, vor allem aber Silikon, eignen sich hervorragend für das Erstellen von Abdrücken, da sie die Siegelfläche derart akkurat wiedergeben, dass selbst kleinste Kratzer und der Glanz der Oberfläche perfekt reproduziert werden können.

Im Fall von antiken Siegelabdrücken, ihren Rückseiten und Fingerabdrücken im Ton, werden sowohl Plastilin als auch Silikon für Abdrücke/Abgüsse verwendet. Plastilin wird hier vor allem für kleinere, Silikon für größere Flächen verwendet.

Gips wird verwendet, um aus den Abdrücken/Abgüssen antiker Siegelabdrücke wiederum einen modernen Abdruck zu machen. Auf diese Weise verfügt das Archiv über sowohl Positive als auch Negative der originalen Siegelflächen.

Fotografien/Dias

Eine umfangreiche Sammlung von Schwarzweiß- und Farbfotografien aller Objekte, von denen Abdrücke/Abgüsse hergestellt wurden, sowie von den Abdrücken/ Abgüssen selbst wird im Archiv aufbewahrt (ca. 100.000 Negative).

Zeichnungen

Zeichnungen, die die Siegelfläche in Form ihres Abdrucks, also im Relief, wiedergeben stehen für alle in den CMS Bänden publizierte Siegel zur Verfügung. Die Zeichnungen sind von Bleistift mit einer feinen Schattierungstechnik hergestellt.

Vs1b 111

CMS V Suppl. 1B no. 111

1957 1-small

Brief von F. Matz an das Kentrikon Archaeologikon Symvoulion (1957)

Informationen

Das Archiv verfügt über ein Karteikartensystem, das Informationen über jedes Stück, das von einem CMS Forscher untersucht worden ist, enthält. Diese Karten stellen eine Art Ausweis für jedes Stück dar, da sie die jeweiligen Eigenschaften detailliert festhalten. Darüber hinaus enthalten sie Notizen, in denen unpublizierte Meinungen der jeweiligen Forscher hinsichtlich problematischer Aspekte verschiedener Stücke, wie z.B. Fragen der Materialität, erfasst werden.

Mineralogische Sammlung

Eine umfassende Sammlung von Steinen und Mineralien aus aller Welt wird im Archiv aufbewahrt.

Reproduktionen

Die Reproduktion einer ägäischen Drehbank sowie Repliken ägäischer Siegel und Siegelabdrücke stellen unabkömmliche Lehrmaterialen dar.

Archivarische Unterlagen zur Geschichte des CMS

Briefe vom Beginn des CMS Projekts, die Notizbücher der ersten Forscher, die für das CMS arbeiteten, der PC, mit dem die erste Version der CMS Datenbanken entworfen und gespeichert wurde sowie Poster und Bilder, die für Ausstellungen des CMS Marburg entstanden sind, stellen einen Teil der verfügbaren Objekte dar, die den Beginn und die Entwicklung des Projektes dokumentieren.

Seitenbearbeiter: E-Mail
Letzte Änderung: 03.05.2018
zum Seitenanfang/up

Lets talk seals!

Ii6 253 Pla1





 








 

 

 

The MM II/III Mesara Stamps...
Read more...

 

 
New finds/Seals not in the CMS

Several seals from Zominthos, Crete...

Read more...

 
New Publications

J. Crowley. 2024. IKON. Art and Meaning in Aegean Seal Images ...

Read more...

 
Other News

Problems with the access to the CMS Databases in Arachne...

Read more...

 

The CMS Collections

Impressions/Casts

Seal intaglios are studied in positive, i.e. from their impressions. The reason for this is that the motif and the engraving technique in the impression can be discerned more clearly because they are not masked in any way by the colour and texture of the material used.

In the CMS archive impressions/casts of more than 12.000 different seal faces are available. These were either taken from the seals themselves or from ancient seal impressions. Impressions/casts of the backsides of sealings once attached to objects (thus taking the form of the objects) as well as those of ancient fingerprints on sealings are also kept in the archive (selected data). This comprehensive collection provides a unique opportunity for the researcher to undertaking comparative studies of Aegean glyptic material which is kept in collections all over the world.

I 005

Modern impression of the seal face of CMS I no. 5

Hms 10-12

Cast of the base of the sealing HMS 10/12

Materials used for the impressions/casts

The materials mainly used for the manufacture of impressions/casts are plasticine, silicon and gypsum. When documenting seals, plasticine is used for impressions of shallow to medium-deep intaglios whereas silicone is more appropriate for casting deep intaglios in which the plasticine cannot penetrate. Both these materials and silicon to an even greater degree are excellent for taking a positive from the intaglios, as they render the seal face so accurately that even the slightest scratches and the shine of the surface are perfectly reproduced.

In the case of sealings, both plasticine and silicon are used for taking impressions/casts of ancient seal impressions, the backsides of the sealings, and fingerprints on the clay. When working with sealings, plasticine is mainly used for smaller and silicon for larger surfaces.

Gypsum is employed for casting the impression/cast taken from ancient seal impressions. In this way, both the positive and the negative of the original seal face are available in the archive.

Photographs/Slides

A comprehensive collection of black and white as well as colour photographs/slides of all the objects for which impressions/casts are available and of the impressions/casts themselves is kept in the archive (ca. 100.000 negatives).

Drawings

Drawings reproducing the seal face as it is seen in its impression and thus in relief are available for all seals published in the CMS series. The drawings are rendered employing fine shading with pencil.

Vs1b 111

Drawing of the seal face of CMS V Suppl. 1B no. 111

1957 1-small

Letter of F. Matz to the Kentrikon Archaeologikon Symvoulion (1957)

Information

Index cards with information on every piece handled by CMS scholars are available at the archive. These cards constitute a kind of ID for each piece as they record its characteristics in detail. In addition, they contain unpublished notes recording the opinions of the respective scholars on problematic aspects of the various pieces, such as the material of the seal.

Mineralogical collection

A comprehensive collection of stones and minerals from all over the world is kept at the archive.

Reproductions

A reproduction of an Aegean bow lathe as well as replicas of Aegean seals/sealings constitute indispensable teaching tools.

Archival material on the history of the CMS

Many artefacts kept at the archive tell the story of the beginning and development of the project: letters of correspondence dating to the very start of the CMS project; the notebooks of the first scholars working for the CMS; the PC in which the first version of the CMS Databases was drafted and saved; posters and images created for exhibitions held by the CMS Marburg.

 

Editor: Email
Latest Revision: 2023-11-22
zum Seitenanfang/up