Department 6.4 Excellence Strategy
Seminarstr. 2
69117 Heidelberg
Fax +49 6221 54-12640

All Contacts

Further Information

University Commission

The University Commission was established in the context of the Initiative for Excellence at Heidelberg University as an important consultative body on operational matters.


Terms of reference

The University Commission advises the Rectorate in questions relating to the implementation of the institutional strategy "Heidelberg: Realising the Potential of a Comprehensive University". It discusses the plans for implementing the subprojects described in the institutional strategy and makes appropriate recommendations to the Rectorate. The Commission prepares the ground for financial decisions on subprojects costing over €25,000; furthermore, it appraises the proposals submitted to the Innovation Fund FRONTIER, if necessary with support from other (internal and external) experts.



The University Commission consists of seven academics, mainly from Heidelberg University; one member is delegated by the Academic Advisory Council (AAC) and thus forms the bridge between these two "bodies of excellence" at the University:

  • 5 members to be elected by the Senate
  • 1 member delegated by the Academic Advisory Council (AAC)
  • 1 member representing the Rectorate with consultative status

The members of the University Commission elect a Spokesperson from among their number, who convenes the Commission. The current Spokesperson is Prof. Dr. Andreas Kulozik (Department of Pediatric Oncology, Hematology and Immunology Heidelberg University). The mandate of the members ends after three years; a re-election or re-delegation is possible.



Prof. Dr. Eva Grebel
Director of the Astronomisches Recheninstitut | Member of the Directorate of the Zentrum für Astronomie der Universität Heidelberg | Astronomisches Recheninstitut

Prof. Dr. Andreas E. Kulozik
MD, PhD | Professor of Pediatrics | Department of Pediatric Oncology, Hematology and Immunology Heidelberg University

Prof. Dr. Heinz-Dietrich Löwe
Spokesman of the Senate | Dean of the Faculty of Philosophy | Institute of Eastern European History

Prof. Dr. Frauke Melchior
Vice Director of the Zentrum für Molekulare Biologie der Universität Heidelberg | Zentrum für Molekulare Biologie der Universität Heidelberg

Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Merkel
Representative of the Academic Advisory Council (AAC) | Social Science Research Center Berlin | Director of the Research Unit: Democracy: Structures, Performance, Challenges

Prof. Dr. Thomas Rausch
Representative of the Rectorate | Vice-Rector for Research and Structure, Heidelberg University | Heidelberg Institute of Plant Sciences

Prof. Dr. Manfred G. Schmidt
Dean of the Faculty of Economics and Social Studies | Institute for Political Science

Email: Editor
Latest Revision: 2015-02-27
zum Seitenanfang/up