Seal of the University of Heidelberg
Bild / picture
Home > Press > Press >

John Templeton Award for Theological Promise at the University of Heidelberg

6 May 2008

The John Templeton Award for Theological Promise will be awarded for the second time in a ceremony in the Old Hall (Alte Aula) of the University of Heidelberg on Friday, 23 May 2008, at 4 p.m. — The prize, $10,000 for each of the winners, will be awarded to 12 young academics from all over the world for their dissertations or first post-doctoral books in the area of God and Spirituality

24 evaluators from 18 countries, from renowned universities and from different traditions of faith (from various Christian traditions including the Russian and the Greek orthodox traditions, and from Judaism and Islam) assessed the applications for this year’s prize.

The applications came from 16 countries and from the following areas: psychology and religion, pedagogics, environmental ethics, philosophy, philosophy and theology, Islamic studies, history, history and humanities, diaconical studies, practical theology, systematic theology, ethics, church history, Old Testament and New Testament exegesis.

This year’s award winners are:
  • Dörte Bester — Germany (Tübingen)
  • Gönke Eberhardt — Germany (Tübingen)
  • Michael Stephen Hogue — U.S.A. (Chicago)
  • Henning Hupe — Germany (Heidelberg)
  • Tomi Petteri Karttunen — Finland (Joensuu)
  • Benjamin Lazier — Israel and U.S.A. (Portland/Oregon)
  • Bo Karen Lee — Korea and U.S.A. (Princeton)
  • Hanne Løland — Norway (Oslo)
  • Yujin Nagasawa — Japan and England (Birmingham)
  • Heike Springhart — Germany (Heidelberg)
  • Martin Wendte — Germany (Tübingen)
  • Jacob L. Wright — U.S.A. (Atlanta) (Dissertation Göttingen, Germany)
Another $10,000 are available for each winner in the coming two years to cover travel costs, when they are invitated by universities or other institutions of higher learning to give a presentation there.

After the awards ceremony, a two-day colloquium will be held at the Internationales Wissenschaftsforum Heidelberg (International Science and Humanities Forum of the University of Heidelberg) to discuss the future research projects of the winners. Members of the Research Center for International and Interdisciplinary Theology Heidelberg (FIIT) and some members of the board of evaluators for the award (from the U.S.A., Colombia, South Africa, France, Greece, Finland and Russia) will take part in the discussions.

For further questions please contact:
Prof. Dr. Dr. Michael Welker

Dr. Michael Schwarz
Public Information Officer
University of Heidelberg

Irene Thewalt
Editor: Email
top of page