Communications and Marketing
Press Office
Phone +49 6221 54-2311

Note to press desks

The presentation of the “Manfred Lautenschlaeger Award for Theological Promise” on 17 May 2019 will take place in the Great Hall of the Old University at 3 pm. Representatives of the media are cordially invited to attend and report. The colloquium with the awardees is scheduled for 18 and 20 May at the International Academic Forum of Heidelberg University. Should you wish to attend the proceedings and report on them, you are requested to register with the organisers either by phone +49 6221 54-3393 or by email to

Further information

Distinction for Ten Young Scholars

Press Release No. 49/2019
14 May 2019
“Manfred Lautenschlaeger Award for Theological Promise” will be presented

Ten young scholars from Denmark, Germany, New Zealand, the United Kingdom and the United States are to receive the “Manfred Lautenschlaeger Award for Theological Promise” in appreciation of outstanding dissertations or the first book publication after the dissertation on the topic of “God and spirituality”. It is endowed with prize money of 3,000 euros for each recipient. To mark the occasion, the Research Center for International and Interdisciplinary Theology (FIIT) is organising a festive presentation ceremony on Friday, 17 May 2019, followed by a colloquium featuring the prize-winners. Further conference participants are FIIT scholars and members of the international awarding committee that evaluated the quality of the studies submitted.

The ceremony begins with speeches by Prof. Dr. Matthias Konradt, dean of the Faculty of Theology, as well as Prof. Dr. Dr. Michael Welker, director of the FIIT, and the donor of the award, Dr. h.c. Manfred Lautenschläger. Subsequently, four Heidelberg theologians will introduce the award winners and their publications. In a keynote address the donor of the award will deal with the topic “Economics, Character, and Values: Living Questions in Society”. In the course of the colloquium, the prize winners will outline their plans for future research projects and discuss them with members of the awarding committee and scholars from the Research Center for International and Interdisciplinary Theology.

The awardees for 2019 are Garrick V. Allen (University of St. Andrews), Alma Brodersen (University of Oxford​), Mikkel Gabriel Christoffersen (University of Copenhagen), Erin Heim (University of Otago), Katharina Krause (University of Tübingen), Thomas McGlothlin (Duke University), Michael Motia (Harvard University), Jan Rüggemeier (University of Tübingen), Anne Stewart (Emory University), and Jonathan Teubner (University of Cambridge).

The Lautenschlaeger Award is presented annually to ten young scholars from all over the world working in different disciplines, including theology, philosophy, religious studies, ethics and adjacent subjects.

Editor: Email
Latest Revision: 2019-05-31
zum Seitenanfang/up