Home > Press >

Awards for Four Young Scientists from Heidelberg

16 10 2009
Annual celebration of the Universität Heidelberg: presentation of the Klaus-Georg and Sigrid Hengstberger Prize

Four highly qualified young scientists working at Heidelberg University have been selected to receive this year’s Klaus-Georg and Sigrid Hengstberger Prize. The recipients are Dr. Dierk Thomas (medicine), Dr. Thorsten Lisker (astronomy) and (jointly) Dr. Tobias Paul and Dr. Sandro Wimberger (physics). The prize money (12,500 euros each) will enable them to organise a symposium at the International Science Forum (IWH) in the coming year. The awards will be presented at Heidelberg University’s annual celebration on 17 October 2009.

Dr. Dierk Thomas
Dr. Dierk Thomas of the Cardiology Department of the Medical University Hospital and Policlinic is preparing a conference on “The Long QT Syndrome: From the Molecular Causes to Cardiac Arrhythmia”. It focuses on a dangerous heart disorder that is either innate or caused by the unintentional effects of medication. The aim of the conference is to define the molecular causes and the modulating factors involved in the long QT syndrome on the basis of recent research findings.


Dr. Thorsten Lisker
Dr. Thorsten Lisker of Heidelberg University’s Centre for Astronomy specialises in the origins and evolution of elliptical dwarf galaxies. He is planning a conference entitled “Early-type Dwarf Galaxies: Origin, Evolution, Characteristics”. Over a thousand such galaxies populate the Virgo galaxy cluster some 50 million light years away from the earth. The conference is designed to establish intensive cooperation between theoreticians and observational scientists. Alongside detailed computer simulations the researchers also intend to exploit the potential of large-scale telescopes.


Dr. Tobias Paul

Dr. Sandro Wimberger
Dr. Tobias Paul and Dr. Sandro Wimberger of Heidelberg University’s Institute of Theoretical Physics are planning a symposium on the subject of “Hybrid Quantum Systems: New Perspectives on Quantum State Control”. Headlong technological progress has facilitated the realisation of so-called hybrid systems operating at the interface between electronic nanostructures, light fields, micromechanical components and ultracold atomic gases. Their complexity calls for a conflation of front-edge thinking on various issues relating to theoretical methodology, experimental implementation and technological applications. The symposium is designed to further this endeavour.


“The award of the three Hengstberger Prizes is designed to be a token of recognition for the creative ideas and the scientific competence of these young researchers,” says Dr. Klaus-Georg Hengstberger, one of the two donors of the award. This year’s total award prize money is 37,500 euros. The Prize will be awarded again in 2010.

For further information go to

Dr. Ellen Peerenboom
International Science Forum Heidelberg

Communications and Marketing
Public Information Office
phone: +49 6221 542311

Editor: Email
zum Seitenanfang/up