Contact

Heidelberg Center for Ibero-American Studies
Brunnengasse 1
69117 Heidelberg
+49 (0)6221 54-19330
alejandro.ecker@uni-heidelberg.de

 
Courses in Winter Term 2021/22
Recent Publications

Ecker, Alejandro and Martin Soto Payva (forthcoming). “Argentina. Debates and Consensus in a Post-bipartisan Congress”, in: Hanna Bäck, Marc Debus and Jorge M.A. Fernandes (eds.), The Politics of Legislative Debate. Oxford: Oxford University Press.

 

Plescia, Carolina, Alejandro Ecker and Thomas M. Meyer (forthcoming). “Do party supporters accept policy compromises in coalition governments?“ European Journal of Political Research, OnlineFirst.

 

Ecker, Alejandro, Marcelo Jenny, Wolfgang C. Müller and Katrin Praprotnik (2021). “How and Why Party Position Estimates from Manifestos, Expert, and Party Elite Surveys Diverge. A Comparative Analysis of the Left–right and the European Integration Dimensions.Party Politics, OnlineFirst.

 
Upcoming Presentations

June 24-25:

Michael Imre and Alejandro Ecker. Ready for the floor? Intra-party determinants of the allocation of legislative speeches. European Political Science Association virtual conference.

 
Recent Blog Entries

Do party supporters accept policy compromises in coalition governments? Blog entry in "EUROPP – European Politics and Policy" of the London School of Economics and Political Science. May 11, 2021.

 
Home >

Jun.-Prof. Dr. Alejandro Ecker

Research
Works Currently in Progress

Ecker

 

HCIAS Junior Professor
"Politics and Communication in Ibero-America
"

 

Affiliation: Faculty of Economics and Social Sciences
Co-operation: Institute for Political Sciences

 

 

Alejandro Ecker is a political scientist and holds a PhD from the University of Vienna. He has studied political science and economics at the University of Mannheim and Johns Hopkins University. Since April 2021, Alejandro has been Assistant Professor in Politics and Communication in Ibero-America at the Heidelberg Center for Ibero-American Studies (HCIAS) and the Faculty of Economics and Social Sciences at Heidelberg University.

Before joining the HCIAS, Alejandro was a Postdoctoral Research Fellow at the Mannheim Centre for European Social Research (MZES) between 2016 and 2020. He was also a Guest Professor at the Department of Government at the University of Vienna and Acting Professor at the Chair of Comparative Politics at the University of Mannheim in 2019 and 2020, respectively.

Research

Alejandro Ecker analyses political decision-making in Europe and Latin America in comparative perspective. His research focuses on the effect of political institutions on the behavior of multiparty governments, political parties, and individual politicians and their consequences for citizen behavior and voter attitudes. It combines observational data with experimental and machine learning methods to explore how elites and citizens interact and how political institutions shape these interactions. Alejandro’s current research projects deal with intra-party politics and multiparty governments, racist hate speech online and the consequences of political bargaining deadlock for citizen attitudes.

  • Intra-party politics in multiparty governments (2019 – 2022): This research project exploits social network sites – most importantly Twitter – to construct a large-scale comparative data set on intra-party heterogeneity in parliamentary and presidential systems. Based on these unique data, it explores three sets of interrelated research questions. First, the project provides a cross-national comparative perspective on the effect of intra-party heterogeneity on government formation, portfolio allocation, and government termination. Second, the data likewise allow for investigating potential institutional and structural determinants of intra-party heterogeneity in democratic systems. Finally, the project contributes to research on the validity of measures based on social network sites by cross-validating the obtained measures of intra-party heterogeneity with alternative estimates retrieved from various other sources including parliamentary speeches, roll call votes, and survey data (among party elites and their rank and file). The project is funded by the German Research Foundation.

  • Identifying and classifying racist hate speech on social media (2020 – 2022): This collaborative research project with Marvin Brinkmann and Hartmut Wessler from the University of Mannheim analyses racist hate speech on social media. Racist comments, both by political elites and directed toward them, often attract media attention, but it is challenging to assess how widespread the phenomenon is and in which contexts it occurs. This project aims to develop a machine learning model to identify and classify racist hate speech in political contexts on social media to enhance our understanding of i) where racist language occurs, ii) whether it is influenced by users’ geographical context, and iii) how politicians and regular users interact in relation to racist language. It is funded by the Federal Ministry of Family Affairs, Senior Citizens, Women and Youth as part of the DeZIM research network.

  • The Consequences of bargaining deadlock: General elections are decisive moments in European democracies. However, a government mandate for a single political party is the exception rather than the rule and the composition of the future government is determined by post-election bargaining between political parties, an often strenuous and protracted process. This research project broadens our understanding of the consequences of bargaining deadlock by exploring three sets of interrelated research questions. First, it investigates how bargaining deadlock affects citizen support for the political system and to what extent fast and smooth coalition talks provoke different reactions with regard to populist attitudes and individual party preferences than strenuous and protracted ones. Second, the project investigates how the media report on bargaining deadlock during government formation. Finally, the project contributes to experimental research on media effects by employing survey experiments to explore how media reports about post-election bargaining directly affect citizen attitudes and behavior. Seed funding for this project is provided by the MZES.

Works Currently in Progress

  • Preferences on compromise and logrolling: Joint work with Carolina Plescia and Thomas Meyer on the preferences of voters for compromise and logrolling between parties during coalition negotiations. The analysis is based on an original survey experiment following the Dutch general elections in March 2021 (pre-registration).

  • Policy-making in multiparty governments: Collaborative effort with Hanna Bäck and Petra Schleiter on the effect Prime-Ministerial powers on policy-making in European multiparty governments. This manuscript explores whether strong Prime Ministers are able to implement their preferred welfare state polices and to overrule the coalition compromise.

  • The causes and consequences of coalition mood: This collaborative work with Michael Imre, Thomas M. Meyer and Wolfgang C. Müller exploits non-verbal communication patterns in national parliaments – most importantly the clapping behavior of factions and individual MPs – to study the mood and atmosphere between political parties over time. The manuscript highlights concurrent validity of coalition mood and its substantial influence on policy-making and government stability.

Responsible: Email
Latest Revision: 2021-09-17
zum Seitenanfang/up

Kontakt

Heidelberg Centrum für Ibero-Amerika-Studien
Brunnengasse 1
69117 Heidelberg
+49 (0)6221 54-19330
alejandro.ecker@uni-heidelberg.de

 
Lehrveranstaltungen im Wintersemester 2021/22
Aktuelle Publikationen

Ecker, Alejandro und Martin Soto Payva (im Erscheinen). “Argentina. Debates and Consensus in a Post-bipartisan Congress”, in: Hanna Bäck, Marc Debus und Jorge M.A. Fernandes (Hrsg.), The Politics of Legislative Debate. Oxford: Oxford University Press.

 

Plescia, Carolina, Alejandro Ecker und Thomas M. Meyer (2021). “Do party supporters accept policy compromises in coalition governments?European Journal of Political Research, OnlineFirst.

 

Ecker, Alejandro, Marcelo Jenny, Wolfgang C. Müller und Katrin Praprotnik (2021). “How and Why Party Position Estimates from Manifestos, Expert, and Party Elite Surveys Diverge. A Comparative Analysis of the Left–right and the European Integration Dimensions.Party Politics, OnlineFirst.

 
Aktuelle Vorträge

Michael Imre und Alejandro Ecker. Ready for the floor? Intra-party determinants of the allocation of legislative speeches. European Political Science Association virtual conference, 24.-25. Juni 2021.

 
Aktuelle Blogbeiträge

Do party supporters accept policy compromises in coalition governments? Blogbeitrag in "EUROPP – European Politics and Policy" der London School of Economics and Political Science. 11.05.2021.

 

Jun.-Prof. Dr. Alejandro Ecker

Forschungsinteressen
Work in progress

Ecker

 

HCIAS Juniorprofessor
"Politics and Communication in Ibero-America
"

 

Affiliation: Fakultät für Wirtschafts- und Sozialwissenschaften
Kooperation: Institut für Politische Wissenschaft

 

 

Alejandro Ecker studierte Politikwissenschaft und Wirtschaftswissenschaften an der Universität Mannheim und der Johns Hopkins University in Baltimore und wurde 2016 an der Universität Wien promoviert. Seit April 2021 ist er Juniorprofessor für „Politics and Communication in Ibero-America“ am Heidelberg Center for Ibero-American Studies (HCIAS) in Anbindung an die Fakultät für Wirtschafts- und Sozialwissenschaften.

Vor seinem Ruf an die Universität Heidelberg war Alejandro Ecker von 2016 bis 2021 als Postdoctoral Research Fellow am Mannheimer Zentrum für Europäische Sozialforschung (MZES) tätig. Er lehrte 2019 zudem als Gastprofessor am Institut für Staatswissenschaft der Universität Wien und vertrat 2020 die Professur für Vergleichende Regierungslehre an der Universität Mannheim.

Forschungsinteressen

Alejandro Ecker analysiert Prozesse politischer Entscheidungsfindung in Europa und Lateinamerika in vergleichender Perspektive. Seine Forschung untersucht die Auswirkungen politischer Institutionen auf das Verhalten von Mehrparteienregierungen, politischen Parteien und einzelner Politiker*innen, und dessen Konsequenzen für Bürger*inneneinstellungen und Wähler*innenverhalten. In seiner Forschung kombiniert er Beobachtungsdaten mit experimentellen Methoden und Methoden maschinellen Lernens, um zu untersuchen, wie politische Eliten und Bürger*innen interagieren und wie politische Institutionen diese Interaktionen beeinflussen. Seine gegenwärtigen Forschungsprojekte befassen sich mit innerparteilicher Politik in Mehrparteienregierungen, rassistischen Hassreden in sozialen Netzwerken und den Folgen langwieriger Regierungsbildungsprozesse auf die Einstellungen der Bürger*innen.

  • Innerparteiliche Prozesse und Mehrparteienregierungen (2019 – 2022): Dieses Forschungsprojekt bedient sich sozialer Netzwerke - insbesondere Twitter - um einen vergleichenden Datensatz zur innerparteilichen Heterogenität in parlamentarischen und präsidentiellen Systemen zu erstellen. Auf der Grundlage dieser Daten werden drei übergeordnete Forschungsfragen bearbeitet: Erstens bietet das Projekt eine länderübergreifende vergleichende Perspektive auf die Auswirkungen innerparteilicher Heterogenität auf Regierungsbildung, Portfolioallokation und Regierungsstabilität. Zweitens ermöglichen die Daten gleichermaßen die Untersuchung potenzieller institutioneller und struktureller Bestimmungsfaktoren innerparteilicher Heterogenität in demokratischen Systemen. Schließlich leistet das Projekt einen Beitrag zur Validität von auf sozialen Netzwerken basierenden Messungen. Es vergleicht die entsprechenden Messwerte innerparteilicher Heterogenität mit alternativen Schätzwerten, die über verschiedene andere Quellen wie parlamentarische Reden, namentliche Abstimmungen und Umfragedaten gewonnen wurden. Das Projekt wird von der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) gefördert.

  • Rassistische Hassreden in sozialen Netzwerken (2020 – 2022): Dieses Kooperationsforschungsprojekt mit Marvin Brinkmann und Hartmut Wessler von der Universität Mannheim beschäftigt sich mit rassistischer Hassrede in sozialen Netzwerken. Rassistische Äußerungen, sowohl jene, die von politischen Eliten ausgehen als auch solche, die gegen sie gerichtet sind, werden häufig von großer medialer Aufmerksamkeit begleitet. Was fehlt ist eine belastbare Datenbasis um zu beurteilen, wie weit verbreitet das Phänomen ist und in welchen Kontexten es auftritt. Das Projekt strebt die Entwicklung eines maschinellen Lernmodells an, um rassistische Hassrede in politischen Kontexten in sozialen Netzwerken zu identifizieren und zu klassifizieren. Damit leistet das Projekt einen Beitrag, um zu verstehen, i) wo rassistische Sprache auftritt, ii) ob sie vom geografischen Umfeld der Nutzer*innen beeinflusst wird, und iii) wie Politiker*innen mit anderen Nutzer*innen in Bezug auf rassistische Sprache in sozialen Netzwerken interagieren. Das Projekt wird vom Bundesministerium für Familie, Senioren, Frauen und Jugend (BMFSFJ) als Teil des DeZIM-Forschungsnetzwerkes gefördert.

  • Die Konsequenzen politischen Stillstands in Regierungsbildungsperioden: Parlamentswahlen sind entscheidende Momente in europäischen Demokratien. Ein Regierungsmandat für eine einzelne politische Partei ist jedoch eher die Ausnahme als die Regel, und die Zusammensetzung der zukünftigen Regierung wird durch anschließende Verhandlungen zwischen den politischen Parteien bestimmt, ein oft mühsamer und langwieriger Prozess. Das Projekt erweitert unser Verständnis über die Auswirkungen von Verhandlungsstillstand und beschäftigt sich mit drei miteinander zusammenhängenden Forschungsfragen. Erstens wird untersucht, wie sich politischer Verhandlungsstillstand auf die Unterstützung der Bürger*innen für das politische System auswirkt und inwieweit schnelle und reibungslose Koalitionsgespräche andere Reaktionen bezüglich populistischer Haltungen und individueller Parteipräferenzen hervorrufen als zähe und langwierige politische Verhandlungen. Zweitens untersucht das Projekt, wie die Medien über Verhandlungsstillstand während der Regierungsbildung berichten. Drittens trägt das Projekt zur experimentellen Forschung zu Medieneffekten bei, indem es durch Umfrageexperimente analysiert, wie Medienberichte über die Verhandlungen im Anschluss an Wahlen Bürger*inneneinstellungen und Wähler*innenverhalten direkt beeinflussen. Das Projekt wird im Rahmen einer Anschubfinanzierung durch das MZES gefördert.

Work in progress

  • Wähler*innenpräferenzen in Bezug auf Kompromisse und Logrolling: Gemeinsames Projekt mit Carolina Plescia und Thomas M. Meyer zu Wähler*innenpräferenzen in Bezug auf Kompromisse und Logrolling zwischen Parteien bei Koalitionsverhandlungen. Die Analyse basiert auf einem innovativen Umfrageexperiment im Anschluss an die Parlamentswahlen in den Niederlanden im März 2021 (Vorregistrierung).

  • Politikgestaltung in Mehrparteienregierungen: Gemeinsames Projekt mit Hanna Bäck und Petra Schleiter zu den Auswirkungen der Befugnisse von Premierministern auf die Politikgestaltung in europäischen Mehrparteienregierungen. Das Projekt erforscht, ob starke Regierungschefs in der Lage sind, ihr sozialpolitisches Programm umzusetzen und sich über Koalitionskompromisse hinwegzusetzen.

  • Ursachen und Auswirkungen der Stimmung in Mehrparteienregierungen: Dieses gemeinsame Projekt mit Michael Imre, Thomas M. Meyer und Wolfgang C. Müller stützt sich auf nonverbale Kommunikationsmuster in nationalen Parlamenten - vor allem das Beifallverhalten von Fraktionen sowie einzelnen Abgeordneten - um die Stimmung und Atmosphäre zwischen politischen Parteien im Zeitverlauf zu untersuchen. Das Projekt fokussiert die Stimmung in Koalitionen und ihren substantiellen Einfluss auf Politikgestaltung und Regierungsstabilität.

Verantwortlich: E-Mail
Letzte Änderung: 17.09.2021
zum Seitenanfang/up