Contact

Heidelberg Center for Ibero-American Studies
Brunnengasse 1
69117 Heidelberg
+49 (0)6221 - 54 19337
pablo.porten-chee@uni-heidelberg.de

 

Color-twitter-logo

 

 
Courses in Winter Term 2021/22
Recent Appearances in Media and Civil Society

Oct. 28, 2020: Podium discussion Digitaler Salon: Swipe for President at the Alexander von Humboldt Institute for Internet und Society, Berlin

 

Oct. 6, 2020: Presentation for the discussion round of the project “Be Part!” of the NGO "Tolerave" on the topic of Über Dark Sides und Bright Sides: Effekte der Nutzung sozialer Medien auf Einstellungen und Verhalten von Wähler*innen, Dresden

 
Recent Publications

Porten-Cheé, P., Kunst, M., Vromen, A., & Vaughan, M. (2021). The effects of narratives and popularity cues on signing online petitions in two advanced democracies. Information, Communication and Society.

 

Kunst, M.; Porten-Cheé, P.; Emmer, M.; Eilders, C. (2021, online first). Do “Good Citizens” fight hate speech online? Effects of solidarity citizenship norms on user responses to hate comments. Journal of Information Technology & Politics

 

Porten-Cheé, P.; Kunst, M.; Emmer, M. (2020). Online civic intervention: A new form of political participation under conditions of a disruptive online discourse. International Journal of Communication, 14, 514 – 534. 

 

Porten-Cheé, P.; Eilders, C. (2020). The effects of likes on public opinion perception and personal opinion. Communications: The European Journal of Communication Research, 45(2), 223 – 239. 

 
Home >

Jun.-Prof. Dr. Pablo Porten-Cheé

Research
Publications and presentations

 

HCIAS Junior Professor
"Communication Studies and Information Society in Ibero-America"

 

Affiliation: Faculty of Modern Languages
Co-operation: Institute for Translation and Interpreting

 

Pablo Porten-Cheé is a communication researcher and earned his Ph.D. from the Heinrich Heine University Düsseldorf studying the effects of media content on everyday face-to-face and online conversations. Since April, 2021, he is Junior Professor of Communication Studies at Heidelberg University with an emphasis on information societies in Latin America.

Pablo Porten-Cheé began his career in research at the Ilmenau University of Technology, contributed to communications research at the University Düsseldorf for several years and worked at the University of Zurich’s Department of Communication and Media Research. Before he joined Heidelberg University, he was a postdoc at Berlin’s Freie Universität at the Institute for Media and Communication Studies. He also led the research group “Digital Citizenship” at the Weizenbaum Institute for the networked society (WI). He is an associate researcher at the Weizenbaum Institute, as well as a project fellow for “NOHATE” (both funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research).

Research

At the HCIAS, Pablo Porten-Cheé is focused primarily on online communication in Latin America and the effect it has on individuals. Dissatisfaction with democracy and the spread of misinformation online are two current challenges being faced by the somewhat fragile information societies of Latin America. His primary research interests are focused accordingly on how users react to misinformation in social media or how political narratives (such as online petitions) can motivate people to participate in politics. His research interests lean in towards the study of political communication under the conditions of a digitalized media world. His current projects deal in particular with the factors affecting political participation and opinion formation online.

Research projects

  • Political participation and media use of the Latin-American community in the US: In this collaborative project, under the direction of Prof. Alcides Velásquez (University of Kansas), the political participation and media use of members of the Latin-American community in the USA are being studied. The two objectives of this study are to shine a light on the conditions for political engagement in a growing community, as well as study and expand the knowledge on contextual repertoires in the study of communication (since 2021).
  • Digital Citizenship: The goal of this research program is to observe the long-term change in political participation under digital media conditions and takes interest in the ever-changing factors contributing to political participation on an individual level (esp. citizenship norms). This research program is led by Prof. Martin Emmer (FU Berlin/Weizenbaum Institute for the Networked Society) and is funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (since 2017).
  • Public discourse on the pandemic in Latin America. Awareness, understanding, and social attitudes – A case study on Argentina: The goal of this cooperative project is to analyze the socio-communicative dynamics of discourse on the COVID-19 pandemic in educational contexts in Argentina. In order to understand the discursive construction of social representations, both, the discourses on education produced by the media as well as the discourses of the educational institutions themselves and their political representatives are being studies.

Publications and presentations

Membership on Editorial Boards

Publications (selection)

Monographs
  • Porten-Cheé, P. (2017) Anschlusskommunikation als Medienwirkung. Der Einfluss von Relevanz und Qualität von Medieninhalten auf das Gesprächsverhalten. Baden-Baden: Nomos.
Peer Reviewed Journal Contributions

Recent Presentations 

  • Gagrcin, E.; & Porten-Cheé, P. (2021, virtual). Informed Citizenship Meets Information Disorder: Ideals and Practices in Different Information Environments. International Communication Association Annual Conference, 27.-31. May.
  • Kunst, M.; Maier, D.; & Porten-Cheé, P. (2021, virtual). The emergence and persistence of online civic intervention as a discourse norm: A network simulation model. 3rd Weizenbaum Conference, Berlin, 17.-18. June.

 

Responsible: Email
Latest Revision: 2021-11-15
zum Seitenanfang/up

Kontakt

Heidelberg Center for Ibero-American Studies
Brunnengasse 1
69117 Heidelberg
+49 (0)6221 - 54 19337
pablo.porten-chee@uni-heidelberg.de

 

 

 
Lehrveranstaltungen im Wintersemester 2021/22
Aktuelle Auftritte in Medien und Zivilgesellschaft

28. Oktober 2020: Podiumsdiskussion "Digitaler Salon: Swipe for President" am Alexander von Humboldt Institut für Internet und Gesellschaft, Berlin

 

6. Oktober 2020: Vortrag für die Diskussionsrunde des Projekts “Be Part!” des Tolerave e.V. zum Thema “Über Dark Sides und Bright Sides: Effekte der Nutzung sozialer Medien auf Einstellungen und Verhalten von Wähler*innen”, Dresden

 
Aktuelle Publikationen

Porten-Cheé, P., Kunst, M., Vromen, A., & Vaughan, M. (2021). The effects of narratives and popularity cues on signing online petitions in two advanced democraciesInformation, Communication and Society.

 

Kunst, M.; Porten-Cheé, P.; Emmer, M.; Eilders, C. (2021, online first). Do “Good Citizens” fight hate speech online? Effects of solidarity citizenship norms on user responses to hate comments. Journal of Information Technology & Politics

information technology

 

Porten-Cheé, P.; Kunst, M.; Emmer, M. (2020). Online civic intervention: A new form of political participation under conditions of a disruptive online discourse. International Journal of Communication, 14, 514 – 534. 

 

Porten-Cheé, P.; Eilders, C. (2020). The effects of likes on public opinion perception and personal opinion. Communications: The European Journal of Communication Research, 45(2), 223 – 239. 

 

Jun.-Prof. Dr. Pablo Porten-Cheé

Forschung
Publikationen und Vorträge

 

HCIAS Juniorprofessur
"Communication Studies and Information Society in Ibero-America"

 

Affiliation: Neuphilologische Fakultät
Kooperation: Institut für Übersetzen und Dolmetschen

 

Pablo Porten-Cheé ist Kommunikationswissenschaftler und hat an der Heinrich-Heine-Universität Düsseldorf zum Einfluss von Medieninhalten auf Alltagsgespräche (face-to-face sowie online) promoviert. Seit April 2021 ist er Juniorprofessor für Kommunikationswissenschaft mit Schwerpunkt auf Informationsgesellschaften in Lateinamerika an der Universität Heidelberg.

Pablo Porten-Cheé begann seine wissenschaftliche Tätigkeit an der Technischen Universität Ilmenau und war mehrere Jahre Mitarbeiter in der Kommunikationswissenschaft an der Universität Düsseldorf sowie als Postdoc an der Universität Zürich (Institut für Kommunikationswissenschaft u. Medienforschung) tätig. Vor seinem Ruf an die Universität Heidelberg war er Postdoc an der Freien Universität Berlin (Institut für Publizistik- und Kommunikationswissenschaft) sowie Leiter der Forschungsgruppe „Digital Citizenship“ am Weizenbaum-Institut für die vernetzte Gesellschaft. Er ist assoziierter Forscher des Weizenbaum-Instituts sowie Fellow des Projekts „NOHATE“ (beides gefördert vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung).

Forschung

Am HCIAS beschäftigt sich Pablo Porten-Cheé insbesondere mit online-vermittelter Kommunikation in Lateinamerika und ihrer Wirkung auf Individuen. Unzufriedenheit mit der Demokratie sowie die Verbreitung von Falschnachrichten im Netz sind nur zwei aktuelle Herausforderungen für die teils fragilen Informationsgesellschaften Lateinamerikas. Dementsprechend liegen seine ersten Forschungsinteressen etwa darauf, wie Nutzer*innen auf Falschnachrichten in Sozialen Medien reagieren oder wie Narrative in politischen Botschaften (etwa Online-Petitionen) zur Teilnahme an Politik motivieren können. Seine Forschungsinteressen bewegen sich im Bereich der politischen Kommunikationsforschung unter den Bedingungen einer digitalisierten Medienwelt. Laufende Projekte beschäftigen sich dabei insbesondere mit den Faktoren politischer Partizipation sowie Meinungsbildung im Netz.

Aktuelle Forschungsprojekte

  • Politische Partizipation und Mediennutzung der lateinamerikanischen Community in den USA: In diesem Kooperationsprojekt unter Leitung von Prof. Alcides Velásquez (University of Kansas) wird die politische Partizipation und die Mediennutzung von Bürger*innen der lateinamerikanischen Community in den USA erforscht und damit einerseits Licht auf die Bedingungen für das politische Engagement einer wachsenden Bevölkerungsgruppe geworfen sowie andererseits das Kontextrepertoire in dem politische Kommunikationsforschung durchgeführt wird, erweitert (seit 2021).
  • Digital Citizenship: Dieses Forschungsprogramm hat das Ziel den Wandel politischer Partizipation in einer digitalen Gesellschaft langfristig zu beobachten und interessiert sich für die sich verschiebenden Faktoren politischer Teilhabe auf individueller Ebene (insb. Bürgernormen). Das Forschungsprogramm wird von Prof. Martin Emmer (FU Berlin/Weizenbaum-Institut für die vernetzte Gesellschaft) geleitet und wird vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung gefördert (seit 2017).
  • Öffentliche Diskurse der Pandemie in Lateinamerika. Wahrnehmung, Verständnis und soziale Einstellungen –Argentinien als Fallbeispiel: Ziel dieses Kooperationsprojekts ist die Analyse der sozio-kommunikativen Dynamiken von Diskursen über die COVID-19-Pandemie in Bildungskontexten in Argentinien. Um die diskursive Konstruktion sozialer Repräsentationen zu verstehen, werden sowohl die von den Medien produzierten Diskurse über Bildung als auch die Diskurse der Bildungseinrichtungen selbst und ihrer politischen Vertreter*innen untersucht.

Publikationen und Vorträge

Mitgliedschaft im Editorial Board

Publikationen (Auswahl)

Monographie
  • Porten-Cheé, P. (2017) Anschlusskommunikation als Medienwirkung. Der Einfluss von Relevanz und Qualität von Medieninhalten auf das Gesprächsverhalten. Baden-Baden: Nomos.
Beiträge in Zeitschriften mit Peer Review

Aktuelle Vorträge

  • Gagrcin, E.; & Porten-Cheé, P. (2021, virtuell). Informed Citizenship Meets Information Disorder: Ideals and Practices in Different Information Environments. International Communication Association Annual Conference, 27.-31. Mai.
  • Kunst, M.; Maier, D.; & Porten-Cheé, P. (2021, virtuell). The emergence and persistence of online civic intervention as a discourse norm: A network simulation model. 3rd Weizenbaum Conference, Berlin, 17.-18. Juni.

 

Responsible: Email
Latest Revision: 15.11.2021
zum Seitenanfang/up