Bereichsbild
Contact

Equal Opportunities Office



gleichstellungsbuero@uni-heidelberg.de




For an appointment please contact us via e-mail


 

 
Family-friendly university

Diversity Podcast

The “Diversity Spotlights” podcast is concerned with the different features of diversity like gender, sexual identity/orientation, culture/world view and religion, social background, health/illness, age and appearance. These features influence who we are, but, more importantly, they also influence how we are being seen by others. In a society in which privileges and positions are not distributed evenly, this also means that we need to address mechanisms of exclusion, discrimination and inequalities in participation as well as resource distribution.

 

This is what we are doing with a whole range of dialogue partners. 

 

Below each episode, you can find our “more on the topic” section that provides more information in form of glossaries, book and audio recommendations, contacts at the University and local networking and empowerment opportunities.

 


 

Episode 1: A conversation with Florence Brokowski-Shekete

BrokowskiShekete Bild

 

 

In the first episode of our podcast, we are talking to Florence Brokowski-Shekete, the first Black woman director of an education authority (Schulamt) in Germany, about racism, growing up as a Black woman in Germany, her career and solidarity among students.

Trigger warning: Experiences with racism are discussed.

 

click here to listen to the podcast episode

 

People with hearing impairments can receive a transcript of the conversation on request.

 

Alexopolou

 

In the second episode of our podcast, we are talking to historian Maria Alexopoulou about Germany as a country of immigration, about racist knowledge and about why there has never been something like the “zero hour,” although the myth is still being kept alive.

click here to listen to the podcast episode

 

People with hearing impairments can receive a transcript of the conversation on request.

 

more on the topic  Externer Inhalt  topic page anti-racism

David Fanz: E-Mail
Latest Revision: 2021-06-20
zum Seitenanfang/up

Bereichsbild
Kontakt


gleichstellungsbuero@uni-heidelberg.de



Für Beratungstermine bitte per Email einen Termin vereinbaren.

 
 

 

 
Schnelleinstieg
Familiengerechte Universität
Chancengleichheit und Diversity
Charta der Vielfalt

Diversity Spotlights - Podcast

 

Der Podcast  "Diversity Spotlights" thematisiert die unterschiedlichen Merkmale von Vielfalt wie Geschlecht, sexuelle Identität / Orientierung, Kultur/Weltanschauung und Religion, soziale Herkunft  Gesundheit/Krankheit, Alter und Aussehen. Diese Merkmale beeinflussen nicht nur, wer wir sind, sondern vor allem auch, wie wir von Anderen gesehen werden. In einer Gesellschaft, in der Privilegien und Positionen nicht gleich verteilt sind, bedeutet das auch immer, dass über Ausschlussmechanismen, Diskriminierung und ungleiche Teilhabechancen und Ressourcenverteilung  gesprochen werden muss.

 

Das machen wir mit einer Reihe ganz unterschiedlicher Gesprächpartner*innen aus Gesellschaft und Wissenschaft.

 

In der Rubrik "Mehr zum Thema" finden Sie unter jeder Folge weiterführende Informationen in Form von Glossaren, Lese- und Hör-Empfehlungen, universitären Ansprechpersonen und lokalen Vernetzungs- und Empowerment-Möglichkeiten.

 



Folge 1: Gespräch mit Florence Brokowski-Shekete

BrokowskiShekete Bild
Bildbeschreibung: Florence Brokowski-Shekete

 

 

 

In der ersten Folge unseres Podcasts sprechen wir mit Florence Brokowski-Shekete, der ersten Schwarzen Schulamtsdirektorin in Deutschland über Rassismus, das Aufwachsen als Schwarze in Deutschland, ihre Karriere und Solidarität unter Studierenden.

Triggerwarnung: Es werden rassistische Erfahrungen thematisiert.
 

Podcast-Folge abspielen

Menschen mit Hörbeeinträchtigung erhalten auf Anfrage ein Transcript des Podcast-Gesprächs.

 

Alexopolou
Bildbeschreibung: Dr. Maria Alexopoulou

 

 

 

In der zweiten Folge sprechen wir mit der Historikerin Maria Alexopoulou über Deutschland als Einwanderungsland, rassistisches Wissen und darüber, warum es die "Stunde Null" nie gab, der Mythos aber immernoch am Leben gehalten wird.

 

Podcast-Folge abspielen

Menschen mit Hörbeeinträchtigung erhalten auf Anfrage ein Transcript des Podcast-Gesprächs.

 
David Fanz: E-Mail
Letzte Änderung: 07.04.2021
zum Seitenanfang/up