ICDS 2022 Logo

14th International Conference of Demotic Studies, Heidelberg SEPT. 05 - 09 2022

german version

Heidelberg, 28.03.2022

Dear colleagues,

We are pleased to provide you with new information on the 14th International Conference of Demotic Studies in this first circular of 2022.

After two postponements due to the Covid-19 pandemic, we are optimistic that we will be able to hold the conference in Heidelberg this year from September 5 to 9. It will open on Monday, September 5, 2022 at 5 p.m. with a keynote lecture followed by a reception and will end on Friday, September 9 at 1 p.m. From Tuesday morning to Friday noon, the conference talks are scheduled at the Heidelberg Academy of Sciences. On the evening of Thursday, September 8, a joint dinner will be held. Throughout the week, conference participants will have the opportunity to visit the permanent exhibition "Ägypten – Land der Unsterblichkeit" at the Reiss-Engelhorn Museums in Mannheim free of charge.

Please register again for the conference via our conference website (registration and abstract submission) until 31.07.2022. The participation fee as an early bird until 31.05.2022 is 150€ (students: 100€) and afterwards 180€ (students: 130€) and includes the par-ticipation in the conference, the evening reception on Monday, a guided tour in Heidelberg on Wednesday as well as the entrance to the above mentioned exhibition of the Reiss-Engelhorn-Museums in Mannheim. A discounted ticket for the Heidelberg mountain funicular with castle admis-sion on Wednesday and the evening event on Thursday can be booked in addition.

All papers that have successfully passed the peer review process will remain accepted. However, we kindly ask that abstracts be uploaded again. Changes to the abstracts are allowed. If you wish to present a different paper than you submitted two years ago, it will go through a peer review process. The same applies to abstracts submitted by participants who did not originally submit a paper but now wish to do so. The deadline for submission of all abstracts for presentations is also 31.05.2022. For this purpose, please use this template and submit the abstract in pdf format via our conference platform.

It is possible to book accommodation in Heidelberg via our conference website until 31.07.2022. Here you will also find a link to the website of Heidelberg-Card, which offers discounts on the city's cultural offerings as well as free travel on public transportation. Parents who require childcare are asked to get in touch with us.

You can always contact us at the e-mail address ICDS2022@zaw.uni-heidelberg.de and we will provide all relevant information on the 14th ICDS on the conference website.

We look forward to welcoming you to Heidelberg soon.

With kind regards
Your ICDS team

Prof. Dr. Joachim Quack  Jannik Korte  Dr. Claudia Maderna-Sieben
Fabian Wespi  Carina Kühne-Wespi  Lena Krastel

and all helpers from the Egyptological Institute Heidelberg

→ registration and abstract submission ←
accomodation / youth hostel
circular March 2022
template for abstracts

 

We dedicate this conference to the great Demotist Wilhelm Spiegelberg in order to honor his outstanding achievements in the field of Demotic Studies and to commemorate the 100th anniversary of his call to the Egyptological Institute of the University of Heidelberg.
Wilhelm Spiegelberg, who habilitated at the University of Strasbourg in 1894 and became the head of the Egyptological Institute in 1907, had to resign from his office and leave Strasbourg due to the French occupation of Alsace-Lorraine and the conclusion of the Treaty of Versailles. He moved to Heidelberg and from 1920 to 1923 was affiliated to the Egyptological Institute as honorary professor under the chair of Herman Ranke. During his time at the Egyptological Institute in Heidelberg, Wilhelm Spiegelberg completed his Coptic Dictionary (1921), published numerous Demotic texts, such as the "Demotische Papyri aus den badischen Papyrussammlungen" (1923) and also developed and wrote a large part of his Demotic Grammar (1925), which went far beyond the "Grammaire démotique" published by Heinrich Karl Brugsch in 1855 and rightfully made Wilhelm Spiegelberg the new founder of Demotic Studies.

 

deadlines

May 31 2022 deadline for the submission of abstracts
  deadline for the early bird registration
June 30 2022 confirmation of accepted abstracts
July 31 2022 deadline for the registration
Sept. 05 -
09 2022
conference
 

abstracts

We kindly ask you to use this template and submit the abstract in the form of an unprotected pdf via our conference platform. The abstract must not exceed 300 words and should be submitted by 31 May 2022.

 

preliminary program

MondaySept. 5
TuesdaySept. 6
WednesdaySept. 7
ThursdaySept. 8
FridaySept. 9
9-10
10-11
11-12
12-13
13-14
14-15
15-16
16-17
17-18
18-19
19-20
20-21
21-22
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
registration
opening ceremony
keynote lecture
reception
conference talks
coffee break
conference talks
lunch break
conference talks
coffee break
conference talks
conference talks
coffee break
conference talks
lunch break
conference talks
coffee break
conference talks
guided tour
conference talks
coffee break
conference talks
lunch break
conference talks
coffee break
conference talks
farewell dinner
conference talks
coffee break
conference talks
closing ceremony
exhibition (optional)

"Ägypten - Land der Unsterblichkeit"

at the Reiss-Engelhorn-Museen
in Mannheim
 
Seitenbearbeiter: E-Mail
Letzte Änderung: 07.06.2022
zum Seitenanfang/up

ICDS 2022 Logo

14. Internationale Konferenz für Demotische Studien, Heidelberg 05.09 - 09.09.2022

english version

Heidelberg, 28.03.2022

Sehr geehrte Kolleginnen und Kollegen,

wir freuen uns, Ihnen mit diesem ersten Rundbrief des Jahres 2022 neue Informationen zur 14. Internationalen Konferenz für Demotische Studien geben zu können.

Nach der zweimaligen Verschiebung aufgrund der Covid-19-Pandemie sind wir optimistisch, die Konferenz dieses Jahr vom 5. bis 9. September in Heidelberg durchführen zu können. Sie wird am Montag, den 5. September 2022 um 17 Uhr mit einem Festvortrag und einem anschließenden Empfang eröffnet werden und am Freitag, den 9. September um 13 Uhr enden. Von Dienstagmorgen bis Freitagmittag sind die fachlichen Vorträge in der Akademie der Wissenschaften Heidelberg geplant, am Abend des Donnerstags, den 8. September, wird ein gemeinsames Abendessen stattfinden. Während der ganzen Woche besteht für die Konferenzteilnehmer*Innen außerdem die Möglichkeit, die ägyptische Dauerausstellung „Ägypten – Land der Unsterblichkeit“ in den Reiss-Engelhorn-Museen in Mannheim kostenlos zu besuchen.

Wir bitten um erneute Anmeldung zur Konferenz bis zum 31.07.2022 über unsere Konferenzwebsite (www.uni-heidelberg.de/aegyptologie/icds2022.html). Die Teilnahmegebühr beträgt als early bird bis zum 31.05.2022 regulär 150€ (Studierende: 100€) und anschließend 180€ (Studierende: 130€) und beinhaltet neben der Teilnahme an den Vorträgen auch den Abendempfang am Montag, eine geführte Tour in Heidelberg am Mittwoch sowie den Eintritt in die oben genannte Ausstellung der Reiss-Engelhorn-Museen in Mannheim. Ein vergünstigtes Ticket für die Heidelberger Bergbahn mit Schlosseintritt am Mittwoch sowie die Abendveranstaltung am Donnerstag können dazu gebucht werden.

Alle Vorträge, die das Peer-Review-Verfahren erfolgreich durchlaufen haben, bleiben angenommen. Wir bitten aber um das erneute Hochladen der Abstracts. Änderungen an den Abstracts sind gestattet. Sollten Sie einen anderen Vortrag halten wollen als vor zwei Jahren, wird dieser das Peer-Review-Verfahren durchlaufen. Gleiches gilt für eingereichte Abstracts von Teilnehmern, die sich ursprünglich nicht mit einem Vortrag angemeldet haben, dies nun aber tun möchten. Die Deadline zur Einreichung aller Abstracts für Vorträge ist ebenfalls der 31.05.2022. Hierfür soll dieses Template benutzt werden. Das Abstract ist dann im pdf-Format über unsere Konferenzplattform einzureichen.

Es besteht die Möglichkeit, über unsere Konferenzwebsite bis zum 31.07.2022 eine Unterkunft in Heidelberg zu buchen. Hier findet sich auch ein Link zur Website der Heidelberg-Card, welche Vergünstigungen im Kulturangebot der Stadt sowie freie Fahrt mit den öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln bietet. Eltern mit Bedarf an Kinderbetreuung bitten wir uns zu kontaktieren.

Wir sind für Sie unter der E-Mail-Adresse ICDS2022@zaw.uni-heidelberg.de für Anfragen erreichbar und stellen auf der Konferenzwebsite alle relevanten Informationen und Hinweise zum 14. ICDS zur Verfügung.

Wir freuen uns sehr, Sie bald in Heidelberg begrüßen zu dürfen.

Mit herzlichen Grüßen
Ihr ICDS Team

Prof. Dr. Joachim Quack  Jannik Korte  Dr. Claudia Maderna-Sieben
Fabian Wespi  Carina Kühne-Wespi  Lena Krastel

und alle Helfer des Ägyptologischen Instituts Heidelberg

→ Konferenzanmeldung und Abstract-Einreichung ←
Unterkünfte / Jugendherberge
Rundbrief März 2022
Template für Abstracts

 

Die Konferenz widmen wir dem großen Demotisten Wilhelm Spiegelberg und möchten damit nicht nur seine herausragenden Leistungen für die Demotistik ehren, sondern auch nachträglich an das 100. Jubiläum seines Aufenthaltes am Ägyptologischen Institut Heidelberg erinnern.
Wilhelm Spiegelberg, der 1894 an der Universität Straßburg habilitierte und dort seit 1907 als Ordinarius das Ägyptologische Institut leitete, musste, bedingt durch die französische Besatzung von Elsass-Lothringen und den Abschluss des Versailler Vertrages, sein Ordinariat niederlegen und Straßburg verlassen. Er siedelte nach Heidelberg über und wurde von der Universität Heidelberg von 1920 bis 1923 als Honorarprofessor dem Ägyptologischen Institut unter dem Ordinariat von Hermann Ranke angegliedert. In seiner Zeit am Ägyptologischen Institut Heidelberg stellte Wilhelm Spiegelberg nicht nur sein „Koptisches Handwörterbuch (1921)“ fertig, edierte zahlreiche demotische Texte, wie die „Demotischen Papyri aus den badischen Papyrussammlungen (1923)“, sondern erarbeitete und verfasste auch einen großen Teil seiner „Demotischen Grammatik (1925)“,die weit über die von Heinrich Karl Brugsch 1855 veröffentlichte „Grammaire démotique“ hinausführte und Wilhelm Spiegelberg zurecht zum Neu-begründer der Demotistik machte.

 

Zeitplan

31.05.2022 Deadline der Einreichung von Abstracts für Vorträge
  Deadline der Registrierung als early bird
30.06.2022 Rückmeldung hinsichtlich der Annahme von Abstracts
31.07.2022 Deadline der Registrierung
05.09. -
09.09.2022
Konferenz
 

Abstracts

Wir bitten Sie darum, für die Einreichung der Abstracts von Vorträgen und Postern dieses Template zu benutzen und das Abstract im nicht-geschützten pdf-Format über unsere Konferenzplattform einzureichen. Das Abstract sollte einen Umfang von 300 Wörtern nicht überschreiten. Die Deadline zur Einreichung für Abstracts ist der 31.05.2022.

 

Vorläufiges Programm

Montag5. Sept.
Dienstag6. Sept.
Mittwoch7. Sept.
Donnerstag8. Sept.
Freitag9. Sept.
9-10
10-11
11-12
12-13
13-14
14-15
15-16
16-17
17-18
18-19
19-20
20-21
21-22
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Registrierung
Konferenzeröffnung
Festvortrag
Empfang
Vorträge
Kaffeepause
Vorträge
Mittagspause
Vorträge
Kaffeepause
Vorträge
Vorträge
Kaffeepause
Vorträge
Mittagspause
Vorträge
Kaffeepause
Vorträge
Stadtführung
Vorträge
Kaffeepause
Vorträge
Mittagspause
Vorträge
Kaffeepause
Vorträge
Gemeinsames Abendessen
Vorträge
Kaffeepause
Vorträge
Abschluss
optionaler Besuch der Ausstellungen

"Ägypten - Land der Unsterblichkeit"

in den Reiss-Engelhorn-Museen
in Mannheim
 
Seitenbearbeiter: E-Mail
Letzte Änderung: 11.04.2022
zum Seitenanfang/up