League of European Research UniversitiesRector of Heidelberg University Elected to LERU Board of Directors

27 May 2021

The League of European Research Universities is an association of 23 research-intensive universities

Prof. Dr Bernhard Eitel, Rector of Heidelberg University, has been elected to the Board of Directors of the League of European Research Universities (LERU). His term of office is three years. “LERU advocates for the interests of the leading research universities in the European Research Area, and is for us the most important network at the European level. The League of European Research Universities is a partner of the European Commission and gives expression and weight to our positions,” the Rector of Heidelberg University underlined after his election at the recent LERU Rectors’ Assembly.

Portrait Bernhard Eitel

LERU brings together 23 research-intensive universities in Europe. Ruperto Carola is a founding member of this network of prestigious universities, which was founded in 2002. LERU’s aim is to sustainably influence university education and research policy at the European level with position papers, analyses and recommendations. The rectors of the member universities meet twice a year to discuss topical issues. The spring meeting this year was organised online by Sorbonne University in Paris (France) on 21 and 22 May 2021. A central topic was the ongoing dramatic impacts of the coronavirus pandemic on the countries of Europe. The LERU Rectors’ Assembly adopted a statement on the question of what contribution research-intensive universities can make to creating sustainable and resilient societies, in view of future challenges.

The Rectors’ Assembly elected Prof. Dr Karen Maex, rector of the University of Amsterdam (Netherlands), as its chair. She takes over from Prof. Dr Jean Chambaz, the retiring president of Sorbonne University. The three-person board also includes Prof. Dr Yves Flückiger, rector of the University of Geneva (Switzerland).