Bereichsbild
Kontakt

Hausanschrift:
Akademiestraße 4-8
D-69117 Heidelberg


Postanschrift:
Postfach 10 57 60
69047 Heidelberg


Telefon 06221/54-7542
Telefax 06221/54-7706
E-Mail archiv@urz.uni-heidelberg.de

Anfahrtsbeschreibung

 

 

The Language of the Akha: Struggling Not to Forget

The University of Heidelberg Archives and the Max Planck Institute for Psycholinguistics jointly delve into audio recordings, word lists, and photos of the ethnologist Friedhelm Scholz.


Mpi-img 0578-trim-400
The language of the Akha must not be forgotten: from left to right, Dr. Volker Thewalt and Sabrina Zinke (both from the University of Heidelberg Archives) and Jeroen Geerts from the Max Planck Institute (MPI) for Psycholinguistics in Nijmegen. Photo credit: Michael Schwarz

The University of Heidelberg Archives is currently starting a cooperation with the Max Planck Institute (MPI) for Psycholinguistics in Nijmegen on audio tapes and cassettes from the years-long research of Heidelberg ethnologist Dr. Friedhelm Scholz on the language of the Akha. Scholz, who died in 2000, conducted research between 1964 and 1993 at the University of Heidelberg's South Asia Institute (Südasien-Institut). At the MPI, a specialist of North Thai languages will digitalize and process the tapes. Word lists, spoken accounts, and a vast number of photos from Friedhelm Scholz's legacy concerning his work with the Akha will be made available by the University of Heidelberg Archives.

Collaboration between the University Archives and the language archive of the MPI, which devotes itself to the collection of critically endangered languages, is mutually advantageous; the MPI obtains valuable additional tape material on the language of the Akha, and the University Archives in return receives the digitalized tape files for its collection at the bequest of Friedhelm Scholz. The Heidelberg ethnologist had dedicated himself for decades to the investigation and documentation of this Northern Thai language.

After the MPI's digitalization process is complete, digital copies can then easily be made available to interested researchers. Alongside thousands of index cards and written notes pertaining to the Akha language, the legacy of Friedhelm Scholz also contained hundreds of riddles, fairytales, and myths of the Akha. Without digitalization, it would not be long before analysis of the tapes by the Archives would be impossible; compatible playing devices for the tapes are quickly becoming unobtainable and the cassettes and tapes are already undergoing a natural aging process that in the near future will make the material impossible to use.

The Akha are one of the most populous mountain tribes of South Asia. They originated in the borderlands between Myanmar and the Chinese province of Yunnan, and finally settled in Northern Thailand, Laos, and Vietnam. The Akha language belongs to the Sino-Tibetan family of languages and exists only as oral tradition, without a written form.

Scholz (1928-2000) began studying Ethnology and Prehistory in Cologne, Germany in the mid-1950s, where he earned his doctorate in 1962. From 1962 to 1964 he worked in Cologne as an adjunct at the Museum for Ethnology (Museum für Völkerkunde) and at the Swiss Museum for Ethnology (Schweizer Museum für Volkskunde) in Basel, Switzerland. In Heidelberg, he was an academic advisor at the South Asia Institute's Ethnology.

The Max Planck Institute for Psycholinguistics conducts first and foremost foundational research in the field of Linguistics. It is a globally recognized center for language studies that, with its international archive of threatened languages, offers a crucial contribution to the preservation of humanity's shared cultural heritage.

Links:
Friedhelm Scholz: http://www.germananthropology.com/short-portrait/friedhelm-scholz/334
MPI/Threatened Languages Archive: http://tla.mpi.nl/
Filmprojects: http://www.seg-sse.ch/pdf/CatalogueSSE_en.pdf
Link in Thailand to IDW, Institut für den wissenschaftlichen Film:
http://www.sac.or.th/databases/ethnographic_film/main.php?str=detail&id=9

Seitenbearbeiter: E-Mail
Letzte Änderung: 15.05.2014
zum Seitenanfang/up

Bereichsbild
Kontakt

Hausanschrift:
Akademiestraße 4-8
D-69117 Heidelberg


Postanschrift:
Postfach 10 57 60
69047 Heidelberg


Telefon 06221/54-7542
Telefax 06221/54-7706
E-Mail archiv@urz.uni-heidelberg.de

Anfahrtsbeschreibung

 

 

Sprache der Akha: Wider das Vergessen

27. März 2014: Universitätsarchiv Heidelberg und Max-Planck-Institut für Psycholinguistik erschließen Tonträger, Wortlisten und Bilder des Ethnologen Friedhelm Scholz


Mpi-img 0578-trim-400
Die Sprache der Akha soll vor dem Vergessen bewahrt werden: von links Dr. Volker Thewalt und Sabrina Zinke (beide Universitätsarchiv Heidelberg), rechts Jeroen Geerts vom Max-Planck-Institut (MPI) für Psycholinguistik in Nijmegen. Foto: Michael Schwarz

Das Universitätsarchiv Heidelberg übergab jetzt Tonbänder und Audiokassetten der langjährigen Forschung des Heidelberger Ethnologen Dr. Friedhelm Scholz zur Sprache der Akha an das Max-Planck-Institut (MPI) für Psycholinguistik in Nijmegen. Scholz, im Jahr 2000 verstorben, forschte zwischen 1964 und 1993 am Südasien-Institut der Universität Heidelberg. Am MPI will ein Spezialist für nord-thailändische Sprachen die Tonbänder digitalisieren und bearbeiten. Wortlisten, Erzählungen und und eine Vielzahl von Fotos der Arbeiten zu den Akha aus dem Nachlass von Friedhelm Scholz werden im Universitätsarchiv erschlossen.

Die Zusammenarbeit mit dem Spracharchiv des MPI, das sich der Sammlung bedrohter Sprachen widmet, ist für beide Seiten von Vorteil. Das MPI erhält dadurch wertvolles zusätzliches Tonmaterial zur Sprache der Akha, das Universitätsarchiv Heidelberg im Gegenzug die digitalisierten Tondokumente für seine Sammlung im Nachlass von Friedhelm Scholz. Der Heidelberger Ethnologe hatte sich jahrzehntelang der Erforschung und Dokumentation dieser nord-thailändischen Sprache gewidmet.

Die Digitalisate kann das Universitätsarchiv dann sehr einfach interessierten Forschern verfügbar machen. Neben tausenden von Karteikarten zur Sprache und den schriftlichen Aufzeichnungen im Nachlass von Friedhelm Scholz beinhaltet der Nachlass hunderte von Rätseln, Märchen und Mythen der Akha. Ohne die Digitalisierung wäre es in Kürze nicht mehr möglich, die Tondokumente im Archiv auszuwerten. Die passenden Abspielgeräte sind kaum mehr verfügbar, die Kassetten und Tonbänder unterliegen einem natürlichen Alterungsprozess, der in naher Zukunft die Nutzung des Materials unmöglich macht.

Die Akha sind eines der zahlreichen Bergvölker Südostasiens. Sie kamen aus der Grenzgegend von Birma und Yunnan nach Südostasien, wo sie heute in Nord-Thailand, Laos und Vietnam siedeln. Die Sprache Akha gehört zur sino-tibetischen Sprachfamilie und kennt nur die mündliche Überlieferung ohne schriftliche Zeugnisse.

Scholz (1928-2000) studierte ab Mitte der 1950er Jahre Ethnologie und Vorgeschichte in Köln, wurde dort 1962 promoviert und arbeitete von 1962 bis 1964 als Assistent am Museum für Völkerkunde und am Schweizer Museum für Volkskunde (Basel). In Heidelberg war er Akademischer Rat am Ethnologischen Institut des Südasien-Instituts.

Das Max-Planck-Institut für Psycholinguistik betreibt in erster Linie Grundlagenforschung der Strukturwissenschaften auf dem Gebiet der Linguistik. Es ist ein weltweit anerkanntes Zentrum der Sprachwissenschaft, das mit seinem internationalen Archiv bedrohter Sprachen auch einen wesentlichen Beitrag zum Erhalt des gemeinsamen Kulturerbes der Menschheit leistet.

Links:
Friedhelm Scholz: http://www.germananthropology.com/short-portrait/friedhelm-scholz/334
MPI/Spracharchiv: http://tla.mpi.nl/
Filmprojekte: http://www.seg-sse.ch/pdf/CatalogueSSE_en.pdf
Link in Thailand mit Hinweis auf das IDW, Institut für den wissenschaftlichen Film:
http://www.sac.or.th/databases/ethnographic_film/main.php?str=detail&id=9

Seitenbearbeiter: E-Mail
Letzte Änderung: 17.03.2015
zum Seitenanfang/up