Bereichsbild
Contact

Location
Akademiestraße 4-8
D-69117 Heidelberg


Mailing Address
Postfach 10 57 60
69047 Heidelberg


Phone number +49 6221 54-7542
Telefax +49 6221 54-7706
E-Mail archiv@urz.uni-heidelberg.de

Directions


Hours
Tuesdays: 9:00AM-6:00PM
Wednesdays: 9:00AM-6:00PM
Thursdays: 9:00AM – 12:30PM

 

 

Image Archives

In the Image Archives of the University Archives you will find treasures concerning the history of the University of Heidelberg: images from six centuries that preserve the visual past of the University. The extensive image collections, along with traditional archival records, play an important part in preserving the heritage of the University and are often used in research for exhibitions and publications.

500 year anniversary 1886
500 year anniversary 1886 (Sign.: Alb I 00023)

The Image Archives make accessible the visual memory of the University from its founding and the time of the first rector, Marsilius von Inghen. It offers a range of services such as high resolution scans. In the past, materials of the Image Archives have been used multiple times by researchers, exhibition organizers, and authors.

The collection currently contains around 30,000 pictures, including positives, negatives, glass plates, and other image media. The subjects also show significant personalities from before the invention of photography. Well known scholars of the university from the 19th and 20th centuries — Bunsen, Kirchhoff, Jaspers, Gadamer — become alive again in their portraits. The student ID card of Hannah Arendt shows a young woman, who stimulated intellectual life around the world. There is a picture of Raymond Klibansky taken in front of the memorial stone plate, which commemorates those who were expelled from the University by the Nazis. Dolf Sternberger and Hilde Domin reveal a lighter side of an intellectual high point at the end of the millennium. Another focus is photos of university anniversaries and historic buildings as well as classes in lecture halls and around patients in the medical center. There are some outstanding examples of these photographs in our Gallery.

In 2003 the digitalization of the main collection, around 12,000 pictures, was completed, thanks to the support of the Klaus Tschira Foundation. The collection is catalogued in a finding aid, making it more searchable. New portfolios are available through HeidICON, the Heidelberg University Image Database, and also searchable online.

Responsible: E-Mail
Latest Revision: 2017-10-03
zum Seitenanfang/up

Bereichsbild
Kontakt

Hausanschrift:
Akademiestraße 4-8
D-69117 Heidelberg


Postanschrift:
Postfach 10 57 60
69047 Heidelberg


Telefon +49 6221 54-7542
Telefax +49 6221 54-7706
E-Mail archiv@urz.uni-heidelberg.de

Anfahrtsbeschreibung

 

 
Ansprechpartner

Dr. Michael Schwarz
bildarchiv@uniarchiv.uni-heidelberg.de
Tel. 06221/54-7543

 
 

Mitarbeit:
Dr. Volker Thewalt

 
Bild des Monats
Gebühren

Bitte beachten Sie die Gebührenordnung des Universitätsarchivs.

 

 

Bildarchiv

Das visuelle Archiv

Im Bildarchiv des Universitätsarchivs finden Sie Schätze zur Geschichte der Ruprecht-Karls-Universität: Bilder aus sechs Jahrhunderten, die Vergangenes auch visuell dem Vergessen entreißen. Mit seinen umfangreichen Beständen bildet es, neben den klassischen Archivalien, einen wichtigen Teil der Überlieferung der Universität und wird oft von der Forschung für Ausstellungen und Publikationen in Anspruch genommen.

Bild 05 Jub 1886 2
   Festzug zum Universitätsjubiläum 1886
   (Sign.: Alb I 00023)

Das Bildarchiv erschließt das visuelle Gedächtnis seit der Gründungsurkunde und dem ersten Rektor Marsilius von Inghen. Es bietet einen vielfältigen Service an, zum Beispiel Scans in hoher Auflösung. In der Vergangenheit nutzten Forscher, Ausstellungsmacher, Buchautoren ... sein Material vielfach.

Rund 30.000 Bilder sind derzeit im Bestand, darunter Positive, Negative, Dias und viele andere Bildträger. Die Motive zeigen bedeutende Persönlichkeiten auch aus der Zeit vor der Erfindung der Fotografie. Berühmte Gelehrte der Universität aus dem 19. und 20. Jahrhundert werden im Portrait lebendig: Bunsen, Kirchhoff, Jaspers, Gadamer. Hannah Arendts Studentenausweis zeigt eine junge Frau, die dem Geistesleben der Welt Impulse gab. Raymond Klibansky lässt sich exakt vor jener Tafel portraitieren, mit der die Universität an die Vertriebenen des Nationalsozialismus erinnert. Dolf Sternberger und Hilde Domin zeigen das Spielerische bei einem geistigen Höhepunkte des ausgehenden Jahrtausends. Lehre und Ausbildung im Hörsaal und am Patienten, Universitätsjubiläen, historische Gebäudefotos sind weitere Schwerpunkte. Einige herausragende Beispiele zeigt unsere Galerie.

2003 war mit Unterstützung der Klaus Tschira Stiftung die Digitalisierung des Kernbestandes – etwa 12.000 Bilder – abgeschlossen, diese Bilder sind in einem Findbuch erschlossen und somit recherchierbar. Ab sofort sind die Neubestände über HeidICON, die Heidelberger Bilddatenbank, online weltweit einsehbar und bestellbar.

Seitenbearbeiter: E-Mail
Letzte Änderung: 01.06.2017
zum Seitenanfang/up