Bereichsbild
Contact

Childrens's Centre of Heidelberg University

Hauptstraße 126
69117 Heidelberg
Fon: +49(0)6221 54-7697
Fax: +49(0)6221 54-7271

Contact via email

Opening hours:
Mon-Fri 8:00 -12:00 am

For counseling please make an appointment via phone or email

 
News
Navigation
AUDIT
Home > Courses >

Parental allowance and parental allowance "plus"

 


Unihd Kidsclub 6393Parental allowance is designed to compensate a loss of income and is applicable to births and adoptions after 1 January 2007. As such, the amount paid depends on the amount of income no longer received.
 

Parental allowance is paid for the child's first fourteen months of life; the parents may divide the payment period between themselves at liberty. One parent can claim up to twelve months at the most for himself/herself, two additional months are possible if the partner also participates in childcare and the income is reduced for at least two months. Single parents, who receive parental allowance as compensation for loss of income, can claim the entire fourteen months of parental allowance.

Important: Part-time work does not conflict with entitlement to parental allowance, as long as working hours do not exceed 30 hours per week. Unlike the regulations for parental leave, there is no legal entitlement to part-time employment – this has to be applied for to and approved by the employer. For further information on part-time employment we recommend the brochure of the Federal Ministry for Labour and Social Affairs: "Teilzeit – alles, was Recht ist" (Part-time employment – all that is right and fair).

In case of a multiple birth, families receive an additional 300 € per child. Families with several children, who are not multiples, can receive a sibling bonus, too.
Unemployed parents receive the minimal amount of 300 €, which is not offset against other benefits and is paid regardless of family income.

The amount of parental allowance is calculated based on the income that was received during the twelve months before childbirth and corresponds to 67% of the monthly income, up to a maximum amount of 1800 € per month.


Maternity allowance is taken into account.


The payment period of parental allowance can be doubled by dividing in half the amount paid per month. In sum, you will receive the exact amount of money granted, only in smaller monthly instalments and over a longer period of time. One parent may extend the payment period to 24 months, a single parent even to 28 months. The time during which maternity allowance is paid is credited against the payment period of parental allowance.
 

Parental allowance can only be applied for after the child is born. The application has to be handed in to the Elterngeldstelle within three months after childbirth.

 

Parental allowance can only be paid in arrears for the last three months of life prior to the month, in which the application was received. In calculating the deadline, it is the actual receipt of the application at the relevant authority, not the date of postmark that is the determining factor. So make sure to submit your application on time.


You can apply for parental allowance directly at the L-Bank or via the administrative offices (Bürgerämter):

Contact
L-Bank, 76113 Karlsruhe,
Phone: 0800 6645471
Fax: 0721/150-3191
E-Mail 
www.l-bank.de/elterngeld

 


Unihd Kidsclub 6359

Good to know 

Student parents covered by compulsory health insurance still have to pay health insurance contributions while they receive parental allowance (also during leave of absence).
If student parents receive unemployment pay II during a leave of absence, it is advisable to let the Jobcenter know that students still have to pay health insurance contributions. It is best to present a confirmation in writing from the insurer at the Jobcenter, which will then bear the costs.

Parents, who have de-registered, remain compulsorily insured with the student health insurance for as long as they receive parental allowance. If they do not receive any other income, they do not even have to pay contributions.

Students who are voluntarily insured with a statutory health insurance and whose spouse is covered by statutory health insurance may benefit from free family insurance during parental leave. If their spouse is privately insured, they still need to pay contributions even if they do not receive any income during parental leave (half of the spouse’s salary is taken into account when calculating the level of contribution). Single parents pay a minimal contribution during parental leave, even if they do not receive any income.

 

Parental allowance "plus"

Applicable to all births after 1 July 2015, parental allowance "plus" makes it easier for parents to combine part-time employment with the receipt of parental allowance. Going forward, these parents can receive parental allowance "plus" twice as long: one basic parental allowance month equals two parental allowance "plus" months. Students working alongside their studies who are eligible for parental allowance can choose between parental allowance and parental allowance "plus", or decide on a combination of both. More information can be found here.   

 

 

Editor: Email
Latest Revision: 2016-10-14
zum Seitenanfang/up

Bereichsbild
Kontakt

Gleichstellungsbüro der

Universität Heidelberg

Hauptstraße 126
69117 Heidelberg
Tel.: 06221 54-7697
Fax: 06221 54-7271

gleichstellungsbuero@uni-heidelberg.de

Öffnungszeiten:

Mo-Fr 9:00 bis 12:00


Bitte vereinbaren Sie telefonisch oder per Email einen Beratungstermin

 

 
Aktuelles
Familienorientierung
Audit

Elterngeld und ElterngeldPlus

Elterngeld


Unihd Kidsclub 6393Das Elterngeld soll einen Einkommenswegfall auffangen und gilt für Geburten und Adoptionen nach dem 1. Januar 2007. Die Höhe des Elterngeldes richtet sich also nach der Höhe des wegfallenden Einkommens.

Das Elterngeld wird für die ersten 14 Lebensmonate des Kindes gezahlt; Mutter und Vater können den Bezugszeitraum frei untereinander aufteilen. Ein Elternteil kann dabei höchstens zwölf Monate für sich in Anspruch nehmen; zwei weitere Monate gibt es, wenn sich auch der Partner an der Kinderbetreuung beteiligt und sich das Erwerbseinkommen in mindestens zwei Bezugsmonaten verringert. Alleinerziehende, die das Elterngeld zum Ausgleich wegfallenden Erwerbseinkommens beziehen, können aufgrund des fehlenden Partners die vollen 14 Monate Elterngeld in Anspruch nehmen.

Wichtig: Teilzeitarbeit steht dem Anspruch auf Elterngeld nicht entgegen, solange sie durchschnittlich nicht mehr als 30 Wochenstunden pro Monat beträgt. Anders als bei der Elternzeit, besteht jedoch kein Rechtsanspruch auf Teilzeitarbeit – diese muss beim Arbeitgeber beantragt und von diesem genehmigt werden. Für ergänzende Informationen empfehlen wir die Broschüre zur Teilzeitarbeit „Teilzeit – alles, was Recht ist“ des Bundesministeriums für Arbeit und Soziales.

Bei einer Mehrlingsgeburt bekommt die Familie für jedes Kind 300 € mehr. Aber auch Familien mit mehreren Kindern, die keine Mehrlinge sind, können einen Geschwisterbonus erhalten.

Nicht erwerbstätige Eltern erhalten den Mindestbetrag von 300 €. Dieser Betrag wird nicht mit anderen Leistungen verrechnet und wird unabhängig vom Familieneinkommen gezahlt.

Die Höhe des Elterngeldes wird berechnet aus dem Einkommen des Zeitraums in den letzten zwölf Monaten vor der Geburt des Kindes und entspricht 67 Prozent des monatlichen Einkommens, bis zu einem Höchstbetrag von 1800 Euro monatlich.

Das Mutterschaftsgeld wird angerechnet.

Die Auszahlung des Elterngeldes kann bei gleichem Budget auch auf die doppelte Anzahl der Monate verlängert werden. Man erhält monatlich den hälftigen Betrag, der dafür aber über den doppelten Zeitraum ausgezahlt wird. In der Summe hat man dann den Betrag erhalten, der insgesamt zugesprochen worden ist. Eine Person kann die Bezugsdauer auf 24 Monate ausdehnen, ein alleinerziehender Elternteil sogar bis zu 28 Monaten. Die Zeit, in der Mutterschaftsgeld gezahlt wird, wird auf die Bezugsdauer des Elterngeldes angerechnet.

Das Elterngeld kann erst beantragt werden, wenn der Nachwuchs auf der Welt ist. Dann muss der Antrag bei der Elterngeldstelle innerhalb von drei Monaten eingehen.

Rückwirkend kann Elterngeld höchstens für die letzten drei Lebensmonate vor dem Monat des Antragseingangs gezahlt werden. Maßgeblich für die Berechnung der Frist ist der tatsächliche Eingang bei einer der oben genannten Stellen, nicht das Datum des Poststempels. Reichen Sie also Ihren Antrag rechtzeitig ein.

Das Elterngeld kann direkt bei der L-Bank oder über die Bürgerämter beantragt werden:

Kontakt
L-Bank, 76113 Karlsruhe,
Telefon: 0800 6645471
Fax: 0721/150-3191
familienfoerderung@l-bank.de
www.l-bank.de/elterngeld

 

Gut zu wissen
Unihd Kidsclub 6359
Pflichtversicherte Studierende (auch im Urlaubsemester) müssen auch während des Elterngeldbezuges weiter Beiträge für die Krankenversicherung zahlen. Wird während eines Urlaubssemesters ALG II bezogen, empfiehlt es sich, das Jobcenter darauf hinzuweisen, dass Studierende dann weiterhin Krankenkassenbeiträge zu zahlen haben. Am günstigsten ist es, eine entsprechende schriftliche Bestätigung der Krankenkasse beim Jobcenter vorzulegen. Die Beiträge werden dann durch das Jobcenter übernommen.

Exmatrikulierte Eltern bleiben in der studentischen Krankenversicherung pflichtversichert, solange sie Elterngeld beziehen. Wenn sie dazu kein weiteres Einkommen haben, ist die Versicherung sogar beitragsfrei.

Freiwillig versicherte Studierende der gesetzlichen Krankenkasse mit gesetzlich versichertem Ehepartner können während der Elternzeit beitragsfrei in der Familienversicherung mitversichert werden. Ist der Ehepartner privat versichert, müssen sie weiter Beiträge zahlen, auch wenn sie während der Elternzeit kein Einkommen haben (die Hälfte des Einkommens des Partners dient als Bemessungsgrundlage für die Höhe des Beitrags). Ledige zahlen in der Elternzeit einen Mindestbeitrag, auch wenn sie kein Einkommen haben.

ElterngeldPlus

Das ElterngeldPlus gilt für alle Geburten ab dem 01.7.2015 und soll es Eltern besser ermöglichen, Teilzeit und Elterngeldbezug miteinander zu verbinden. Künftig ist es für diese Eltern möglich, das ElterngeldPlus doppelt so lange zu erhalten. Aus einem Elterngeldmonat werden so zwei ElterngeldPlus-Monate. Auch arbeitende Studierende mit Anspruch auf Elterngeld können sich zwischen Elterngeld und ElterngeldPlus entscheiden oder beides kombinieren. Weitere Informationen finden Sie hier.

Seitenbearbeiter: E-Mail
Letzte Änderung: 14.10.2016
zum Seitenanfang/up