Bereichsbild
Dates

Workshop
"The Challenges of Doing Biography"

Friday, July 3, 2015
Heidelberg Center for American Studies
Program Adobe

 

Prof. Dr. Berg's office hours during Summer Term 2015 (Room 041, Department of History):
Tuesday, 11.00 a.m.-1.00 p.m., or by appointment

 

Prof. Dr. Berg's office hours during the semester break (Room 041, Department of History):
Tue., July 28, 2015, 11.00 a.m.-1.00 p.m.
Tue. September 15, 2015, 11.00 a.m.-1.00 p.m.
Tue., October 6, 2015, 11.00 a.m.-1.00 p.m.

 
News

New Publications by Prof. Dr. Berg

  • Article "Pulverfass mit kurzer Lunte. Die Unruhen in Ferguson und Baltimore haben eine bedrückende Tradition: Seit mehr als 150 Jahren erschüttern „race riots“ die amerikanische Gesellschaft.", in DIE ZEIT, 13.05.2015. Read
  • Interview with Prof. Dr. Berg on German radio channel SWRinfo "Polizeigewalt in den USA" (28.04.2015). Listen
  • Article "„Schnappt Euch die Nigger!“ Der „blutige Sonntag“ von Selma in Alabama wurde im März 1965 zu einem Wendepunkt der US-Bürgerrechtsbewegung.", in DIE ZEIT, 19.02.2015. Read
  • Interview with Prof. Dr. Berg on German radio channel SWR "Der Film 'Selma' und die Situation der Schwarzen in den USA" (19.02.2015). Listen
  • Interview with Prof. Dr. Berg on German radio channel BR "Rassismus: Proteste in den USA" (29.11.2014). Listen
  • Interview with Prof. Dr. Berg on Swiss radio channel SRF "Lynchjustiz in den USA – eine lange Geschichte" (22.09.2014). Listen
  • Review of: "Lynchjustiz in den USA" in SZ, 16.09.2014. Read
  • Article "Ein Traum für alle. Der Civil Rights Act sollte vor 50 Jahren die Rassentrennung in den USA beenden. Ist das gelungen?", in DIE ZEIT, 12.06.2014. Read
  • Lecture "Die USA und der Erste Weltkrieg" from series of lectures Studium Generale Heidelberg. Link
  • Article "Blut für den Fortschritt" in Ruperto Carola Forschungsmagazin, 04.05.2014. Read
  • Article "Revolte gegen die Willkür" in DIE ZEIT, 30.04.2014. Read
  • Review of: "Lynchjustiz in den USA" in FAZ ,14.04.2014. Read
  • Interview with Prof. Dr. Berg on SWR radio program in Journal am Mittag on his new book "Lynchjustiz in den USA" (01.04.2014). Listen
  • Review of: "Lynchjustiz in den USA" in Andruck: Das Magazin für politische Literatur on Deutschlandfunk radio (17.03.2014). Listen
  • Lynchjustiz in den USA. Hamburger Edition. English edition: Popular Justice: A History of Lynching in America.Lynchjustiz in den USA
    Further information on this book

  • RNZ-Interview with Prof. Dr. Berg  "Wer in den USA Daten preisgibt, darf nie mehr auf deren Schutz pochen“. Über Privatsphäre in den Vereinigten Staaten und die tiefgehende Angst vor äußeren Gefahren (17.01.2014). Read
  • Racism in the Modern World: Historical Perspectives on Cultural Transfer and Adaption.Racism in the Modern World
    Further information on this book

  • Van Minnen, Cornelis A. and Manfred Berg (eds.): The U.S. South and Europe: Transatlanic Relations in the Nineteenth and Twentieth Centuries.Cover Berg U.S. South and Europe
    Further information on this book

  • Article by Prof. Dr. Berg and Dr. Wilfried Mausbach "Wie der Prinz in seinem Schloss? [...]" in FAZ, 09.09.2013. Read
  • Review of: Immerman, Richard H. / Goedde, Petra: The Oxford Handbook of the Cold War. Oxford: Oxford University Press 2013. Read
  • Interview with Prof. Dr. Berg on SWR radio program Journal am Mittag "Der Amerikanische Traum, Vision und Wirklichkeit" (28.08.2013). Listen
  • Interview with Prof. Dr. Berg on Swiss radio channel SRF 4 News aktuell "Sind US-Präsidenten in der 2. Amtszeit erfolgreicher?" (21.01.2013).
    Listen (complete interview)
    Listen (shortened interview)
  • Geschichte der USA. Oldenbourg Grundriss der Geschichte. Bd. 42.Geschichte der USA

  • Globalizing Lynching History.​Global Lynching History
    Further information on this book

  • Racism in the Modern World: Historical Perspectives on Cultural Transfer and Adaptation.Racism in the Modern World
    Further information on this book

  • Popular Justice: A History of Lynching in America.Popular Justice
    Further information on this book
 
Archive

For older announcements see our archive.

 

List of Staff

Head

   
Prof. Dr. Manfred Berg Chair manfred.berg@zegk.uni-heidelberg.de

Staff

   
Jens Hofmann, M.A. Research Associate jens.hofmann@zegk.uni-heidelberg.de
Sophie Lorenz, M.A. Research Associate sophie.lorenz@zegk.uni-heidelberg.de    
Andreas Riffel, M.A. Research Associate andreas.riffel@zegk.uni-heidelberg.de
     
Michaela Neidig Administration michaela.neidig@zegk.uni-heidelberg.de
     
Frank Berg Teaching Assistant frank.berg@zegk.uni-heidelberg.de
Tillmann Heise Research Assistant tillmann.heise@zegk.uni-heidelberg.de
Katharina Reif Teaching Assistant katharina.reif@zegk.uni-heidelberg.de    
     

Former Staff (since 2005)

   
PD Dr. Marcus Gräser Visiting Professor, 2009/10 marcus.graeser@jku.at
Dr. Michael Lenz Research Associate michael.lenz@zegk.uni-heidelberg.de
Dr. Simon Wendt Research Associate wendt@em.uni-frankfurt.de
PD Dr. Axel Jansen Interim Professor (Winter Term 2014/15) axel.jansen@uni-tuebingen.de    
     
Danijela Albrecht Administration danijela.albrecht@zegk.uni-heidelberg.de
Johannes Steffens, M.A. Teaching Assistant jsteffens@hca.uni-heidelberg.de
Philipp Königer Research Assistant philipp.koeniger@web.de
Xenia Wirth Teaching Assistant xenia_wirth@gmx.net
Stella Krepp Research Assistant StellaKrepp@gmx.de
Christian Jauch Research Assistant christian_jauch@gmx.de
Jens Weimann Research Assistant jens.weimann@uni-hd.de
Onno Schroeder Research Assistant onno-schroeder@gmx.de
Anja Milde Teaching Assistant amilde@hca.uni-heidelberg.de
Elena Allendörfer Teaching Assistant elena.allendoerfer@zegk.uni-heidelberg.de
Tatjana Eichert Teaching Assistant tatjana.eichert@zegk.uni-heidelberg.de
David Kirchgeßner Research Assistant david.kirchgessner@zegk.uni-heidelberg.de
Steve Bahn Teaching Assistant steve.bahn@zegk.uni-heidelberg.de
Jan Walkling Research Assistant jan.walkling@zegk.uni-heidelberg.de    
     
Jens Hofmann, M.A. Schurman Scholarship Holder jens.hofmann@zegk.uni-heidelberg.de
Michael Friedrich, M.A. Schurman Scholarship Holder, 2008-11 mischifriedrich@web.de

 

Editor: F. Berg
Latest Revision: 2015-03-25
zum Seitenanfang/up