Seal of the month

Eistonafro





 








 

 

 

 
Read more...

 

 
New finds/Seals not in the CMS

The Seals from the Minoan Site of Chryssi Island...

Read more...

 
New Publications

Anastasiadou, Maria. 2018. The origin of the different: ‘Gorgos’ and ‘Minotaurs’ of the Aegean Bronze Age...

Read more...

 
Other News

Workshop: Seals, Stamps, and Administration. Digitizing Bureaucracy – Preserving Heritage

Read more...

 

Dokumentation

Das Material der Reihe wird nach Aufbewahrungsorten geordnet. CMS Bände I-V widmen sich dem Material in den griechischen Sammlungen, CMS IV-XI dem anderer europäischer Sammlungen und CMS XII-XIII dem Material in Nordamerika. Sechs der Beihefte dokumentieren die Berichte der durch das CMS veranstalteten Konferenzen. Drei weitere Beihefte sind Publikationen von Studien, die sich mit ägäischer Glyptik befassen..  

Jeder Eintrag eines Siegels in den CMS Bänden besteht aus jeweils einer Fotografie der Siegelfläche, des Abdrucks und einer Zeichnung des Abdrucks. Wo nötig werden außerdem Fotografien des Siegels, die seine Form zeigen, publiziert. Antike Siegelabdrücke werden mit einer Fotografie des Abdrucks und einer Zeichnung publiziert. Die Bilder werden in Schwarzweiß und in standardisierter Größe (4,5 / 6,2 x 4,5 cm) veröffentlicht, sodass eine gute Vergleichsbasis des Materials gewährleistet ist. Profilzeichnungen spätbronzezeitlicher Siegel sind jeweils tabellarisch am Ende eines jeden Bandes zu finden.

Vs3 085 1 Vs3 085 Vs3 085 3

CMS V Suppl. 3 no. 85

Die Fotografie der Siegelfläche und des Siegels soll dem Betrachter einen Eindruck des verwendeten Materials und seines Erhaltungszustands ermöglichen. Der Abdruck gibt das eingravierte Motiv im Negativ als Relief wieder. Durch die Betrachtung des Abdrucks ist es möglich, ikonographische, stilistische und technische Details des Intaglios im Detail zu untersuchen ohne durch Unregelmäßigkeiten des Materials abgelenkt zu werden. Zeichnungen werden von den Abdrücken unter Zuhilfenahme eines Mikroskops angefertigt. Sie ergänzen die Abdrücke, indem sie das Motiv unabhängig von der jeweils fotospezifischen Belichtung des Bildes hervorheben und darüber hinaus uneindeutige Bereiche des Intaglios besser aufzeigen. Im Fall der antiken Siegelabdrücke ist es außerdem möglich, die Siegelfläche zu rekonstruieren, indem man die Fragmente der verschiedenen Abdrücke eines Siegels miteinander verbindet.

Die Informationen zu jedem Siegel bestehen aus Aufbewahrungsort, Inventarnummer, Material, Form, Größe und, sofern vorhanden, Herkunft und Kontext. Darauf folgt eine Beschreibung des Motivs. Die Einträge in den jüngsten Bänden wurden außerdem, wo notwendig, durch einen Kommentar und Vergleichsstücke ergänzt. Des Weiteren verfügt jeder Eintrag über die wichtigsten Forschungsbeiträge zu den jeweiligen Stücken.

Im einleitenden Abschnitt werden verschiedene Aspekte des Materials, das im jeweiligen Band enthalten ist, beleichtet. Dazu zählen Provenienz, Datierung, Ikonographie, Technik und Fragen der Authentizität. Einige Einleitungen stellen eigene Studien dar. Zum Beispiel sind die Einleitungen zu den Abdrücken aus Ajia Triada und Knossos in CMS II,6 und CMS II,8 sowie die Behandlung von Siegelmaterial und -formen in CMS III eigenständige Studien.

Seitenbearbeiter: E-Mail
Letzte Änderung: 03.05.2018
zum Seitenanfang/up

Seal of the month







I 107 1b






 

 

 

 
Read more...

 

 
New finds/Seals not in the CMS

More than fifty seals in Pylos!

Read more...

 
New Publications

Krzyszkowska, O., 2017....

Read more...

 
Other News

Inauguration of the CMS in Heidelberg with lecture of Ingo Pini!

Read more...

 

Documentation

The material in the series is organized according to where it is kept. Volumes CMS I-V are devoted to material kept in the Greek collections, CMS VI-XI to that of other European collections, and CMS XII- XIII to the North American collections. Six of the supplementary volumes (Beihefte) report proceedings of conferences organized by the CMS. The remaining three supplements are publications of studies devoted to Aegean glyptic.  

Each seal entry in a CMS volume is accompanied by a photograph of the seal face, one of its impression, and a drawing of the impression. When necessary, a photograph of the seal showing its shape is also published. Ancient seal impressions are documented by a photograph of the seal impression and its drawing. The photographs used are black and white and published in a standard size such that comparisons between the material are easily made (4,5 / 6,2 x 4,5 cm). Profile drawings of Late Bronze Age seals can be found in tables at the end of each volume.

Vs3 085 1 Vs3 085 Vs3 085 3

CMS V Suppl. 3 no. 85

The photograph of the seal face/seal is intended to give the observer an impression of the material used and of the state of preservation of the seal. The impression renders the engraved image mirror inverted and in relief. By studying the impression, it is possible to detect iconographical, stylistic, and technical details of the intaglio in every possible detail without being disturbed by the irregularities of the material. Drawings are prepared from impressions with the help of a microscope. They can be seen as complementing the impressions as they render the motif independently of the illumination which is intrinsic to photography and can also illustrate ambiguous parts of the intaglio with greater clarity. In the case of ancient seal impressions, the drawing may also enable the reconstruction of a seal face from a synthesis of the various fragments of the impressions of one seal.

The information provided for each seal is its repository, inventory number, material, shape, dimensions, and where available, provenance and context. A description of the motif follows. In the latest volumes, a commentary and comparanda have been added, when necessary. References to the most important scholarly contributions available for each piece are also provided.

The introductory section considers the various aspects of the material included in each volume, such as its provenance, dating, iconography, style, technique, and even authenticity issues. Some introductions constitute separate studies themselves. For example the introductions devoted to the Agia Triada and Knossos sealings in CMS II,6 and CMS II,8 as well as that treating the materials and shapes of the seals in CMS III all represent studies in their own right.

Editor: Email
Latest Revision: 2017-08-21
zum Seitenanfang/up