The Institute for Translation and Interpreting


 
Institut
 

As a result of the internationalisation of nearly all areas of life (politics, culture, law, sports, media, the environment, humanitarian cooperation, etc.) and the globalisation of the economy, the need for professionally and academically trained translators and interpreters has seen continuous growth. The study of translation and its different disciplines (interpreting, intercultural communication, etc.) has also become more relevant in recent decades.

The professional opportunities for graduates of translation studies are diverse and include linguistic and cultural intermediary activities of all kinds. In addition to being active as technical translators as well as court, liaison and conference interpreters, translators and interpreters today offer numerous additional linguistic services, including communication and terminology management, technical documentation, localisation and diversity management, just to name a few. In providing these services, they have to be able to work with modern technical tools and professional systems for computer-assisted translation and electronic data and word processing.

To give students the best chances of success in their careers, the translation studies degree programmes prepare them for just such versatile professional profiles and the associated high demands on graduates. Besides the traditional translation skills, students will acquire practical skills for the professional use of modern information technologies as well as other key competences. All faculty members have relevant professional experience and extensive academic qualifications.

The theoretical foundations for translation and interpreting degree programmes stem from translation studies as well as — in part — from linguistics and cultural studies. Translation studies deals with all types of interlingual and intercultural communication. It encompasses the fields of translation and interpreting. However, terminology and terminography, text (type) linguistics and intercultural communication are also important research areas.

Responsible: Webmaster
Latest Revision: 2017-10-05
zum Seitenanfang/up

Das Institut für Übersetzen und Dolmetschen


 
Institut
 

Im Zuge der Internationalisierung nahezu sämtlicher Lebensbereiche (Politik, Kultur, Rechtsprechung, Sport, Medien, Umwelt, humanitäre Zusammenarbeit etc.) und der Globalisierung der Wirtschaft ist der Bedarf an professionell und wissenschaftlich geschulten Übersetzern und Dolmetschern kontinuierlich gewachsen. Auch die Wissenschaft von der Translation und ihren verschiedenen Teilgebieten (Übersetzen, Dolmetschen, Interkulturelle Kommunikation etc.) hat in den letzten Jahrzehnten zunehmend an Tiefe und Bedeutung gewonnen.

Die Berufsmöglichkeiten für Absolventen der translatorischen Studiengänge sind vielfältig und umfassen sprachliche und kulturelle Mittlertätigkeiten aller Art: Übersetzer und Dolmetscher sind als Fachübersetzer, Gerichts-, Verhandlungs- und Konferenzdolmetscher tätig, bieten aber heute zahlreiche darüber hinausgehende sprachliche Dienstleistungen an: Kommunikations- und Terminologiemanagement, technische Dokumentation, Lokalisierung, Diversitätsmanagement etc. Sie arbeiten mit modernen technischen Hilfsmitteln und professionellen Systemen zur computergestützten Übersetzung und elektronischen Daten- und Textverarbeitung.

Diesem vielseitigen Berufsprofil und den damit verbundenen hohen Anforderungen an die Absolventen der translatorischen Studiengänge trägt auch die universitäre Ausbildung Rechnung. Neben den klassischen translatorischen Kompetenzen erwerben die Studierenden praxisrelevante Fähigkeiten zum professionellen Gebrauch moderner Informationstechnologien und weitere Schlüsselkompetenzen. Die Lehrenden verfügen über einschlägige Berufserfahrungen und eine hohe wissenschaftliche Qualifikation.

Die theoretischen Grundlagen für die universitäre Übersetzer- und Dolmetscherausbildung werden von der Translationswissenschaft, teilweise auch von den Sprach- und Kulturwissenschaften bereitgestellt. Die Translationswissenschaft beschäftigt sich mit allen Arten der interlingualen und interkulturellen Kommunikation. Sie umfasst die Teilbereiche Übersetzungswissenschaft und Dolmetschwissenschaft. Wichtige Forschungsfelder sind aber auch die Terminologie und -graphie, Textlinguistik, Textsortenlinguistik und Interkulturelle Kommunikation.

Verantwortlich: Webmaster
Letzte Änderung: 02.09.2016
zum Seitenanfang/up