News and Events

12/16/2011
Closing Symposium of the project "Human Dignity"

4pm

Heidelberger Akademie der Wissenschaften
Karlstraße 4
69117 Heidelberg

 
Home >  IFBK >

IFBK Winter Schools

Winter School 2011

In cooperation with the Marsilius Kolleg, the IFBK hosted a Winter School from February 7th to 16th 2011 for young scholars in the humanities and natural sciences on the topic “The (non-) transparent human being. How deep into the person can we look?”

How do we perceive the sentiments, feelings and intentions of others? Using brain imaging techniques, can we read a person's thoughts or detect their feelings? Does the genome predict our individual futures? Where is the person to be found – within or without? The 2011 Winter School of Heidelberg’s Marsilius Kolleg addressed these current issues. It investigated the following questions: - what approaches to the person are offered by different disciplines such as Theology, Philosophy, Psychology, Sociology and Neurobiology; - to what extent can data obtained through new technologies in the fields of human genetics and brain research allow us to reconstruct the person; and – what are the ethical and legal consequences of the increasing “transparency” of the person. Participants had the opportunity to intensively explore different research approaches and current issues with numerous experts. They discussed these in work groups and discussion rounds and each presented their individual research projects.

Direction:
Prof. Dr. Claus R. Bartram (Human Genetics)
Prof. Dr. Monika Bobbert (History of Medicine)
Prof. Dr. Dieter Dölling (Criminology)
Prof. Dr. Dr. Thomas Fuchs (Psychiatry, Philosophy)
Prof. Dr. Klaus Tanner (Theology)

Speakers, among others:
Martin Altmeyer (Frankfurt); Alan Costall (Portsmouth); Harald Dressing (Mannheim); Sandro Gaycken (Stuttgart); Dirk Hagemann (Heidelberg); John-Dylan Haynes (Charité Berlin); Jessica Heesen (Freiburg); Peter Janich (Marburg); Paul Kirchhof (Heidelberg); Wolfgang Kuhlmann (Aachen); Peter Lichter (Heidelberg); Hannah Monyer (Heidelberg); Christoph Rehmann-Sutter (Basel); Jörg Schmidtke (Hannover); Hermann Schmitz (Kiel); Jürgen Straub (Bochum); Dieter Sturma (Bonn); Jochen Taupitz (Mannheim)
 

Target Group:
Junior researchers and doctoral students of different disciplines who deal with questions about the person (or related questions) in their projects and are interested in interdisciplinary dialogue. The number of participants is limited to 30. Participation as well as room and board are free of charge. The event was sponsored by BASF SE.


Further Information:
http://www.marsilius-kolleg.uni-heidelberg.de/public_activities/winterschool_2011.html

 

Winter School 2009

The IFBK organised a Winter School in cooperation with the Marsilius Kolleg for junior researchers in the humanities and natural sciences on the topic "Responsibility - only an illusion?" from 02/02 - 02/13/2009. The school concentrated on the scientific discussion of determinism and freedom and their practical implications. In keeping with the mission of the Kolleg, the Winter School was transdisciplinary, and set out to clarify the terms freedom, determinism and responsibility, to present and discuss the most important brain research methods and results, to interpret the philosophical implications of these research results, to place them within their ethical coordinates and to reflect upon their application in the areas of law, business management and dementia research.  

Further Information [in German]

 

 

 

 

 


 

Dr. Frank Martin Brunn: Email
zum Seitenanfang/up

Termine

16.12.2011 Abschlusssymposium des Projekts "Menschenbild und Menschenwürde"

16.00 Uhr

Heidelberger Akademie der Wissenschaften
Karlstraße 4
69117 Heidelberg

 
Startseite >  IFBK >

Winterschulen des IFBKs

Winterschule 2011

Im Rahmen des Marsilis-Kollegs veranstaltete das IFBK vom 07.-16.02.2011eine Winterschule für Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen sowohl der Geistes- als auch der Naturwissenschaften zum Thema "Der (un)durchsichtige Mensch - Wie weit reicht der Blick in die Person?".

Wie nehmen wir die Empfindungen, Gefühle und Absichten anderer wahr? Können wir im Gehirn Gedanken lesen, die Gefühle einer Person erkennen? Sagt uns das Genom die individuelle Zukunft voraus? Wo finden wir überhaupt die Person – innen oder außen? Diesen aktuellen Themen widmete sich die Winterschule des Heidelberger Marsilius-Kollegs 2011. Leitend waren dabei die Fragen, welche Zugänge zur Person verschiedene Disziplinen wie Theologie, Philosophie, Psychologie, Soziologie und Neurobiologie ermöglichen, inwieweit technisch gewonnene Daten der Humangenetik und der Hirnforschung Personen zu erfassen vermögen, und welche ethischen und rechtlichen Konsequenzen sich aus der zunehmenden „Durchsichtigkeit“ von Personen ergeben. Die Teilnehmenden hatten die Möglichkeit, Forschungsansätze und aktuelle Fragen durch eine Vielzahl von Experten intensiv kennenzulernen, in Arbeitsgruppen und Diskussionsrunden zu diskutieren sowie ihre eigenen Forschungsprojekte vorzustellen.

Leitung:
Prof. Dr. Claus R. Bartram (Humangenetik)
Prof. Dr. Monika Bobbert (Medizingeschichte)
Prof. Dr. Dieter Dölling (Kriminologie)
Prof. Dr. Dr. Thomas Fuchs (Psychiatrie, Philosophie)
Prof. Dr. Klaus Tanner (Theologie)

Referenten u.a.:
Martin Altmeyer (Frankfurt); Alan Costall (Portsmouth); Harald Dressing (Mannheim); Sandro Gaycken (Stuttgart); Dirk Hagemann (Heidelberg); John-Dylan Haynes (Charité Berlin); Jessica Heesen (Freiburg); Peter Janich (Marburg); Paul Kirchhof (Heidelberg); Wolfgang Kuhlmann (Aachen); Peter Lichter (Heidelberg); Hannah Monyer (Heidelberg); Christoph Rehmann-Sutter (Basel); Jörg Schmidtke (Hannover); Hermann Schmitz (Kiel); Jürgen Straub (Bochum); Dieter Sturma (Bonn); Jochen Taupitz (Mannheim)
 

Zielgruppe:
Nachwuchswissenschaftler/innen und Doktoranden/innen verschiedener Disziplinen, die sich in ihren Projekten mit Fragen zur Person oder verwandten Themen befassen und speziell an einem interdisziplinären Dialog interessiert sind. Die Teilnehmerzahl ist auf 30 begrenzt. Teilnahme, Unterkunft und Verpflegung sind frei (Stipendium). Die Veranstaltung wird von BASF SE gesponsert.


Weitere Informationen:
www.mk-winterschule2011.uni-hd.de

 

Winterschule 2009

Im Rahmen des Marsilius-Kollegs veranstaltete das IFBK vom 02.-13.02.2009 eine Winterschule für NachwuchswissenschaftlerInnen sowohl der Geistes- als auch der Naturwissenschaften zum Thema "Verantwortlichkeit - Eine nützliche Illusion?". Sie widmete sich der wissenschaftlichen Diskussion über Determinismus und Freiheit und ihren praktischen Folgen. Gemäß dem Anliegen des Kollegs war sie transdisziplinär ausgerichtet und untersuchte die Begriffe Freiheit, Determinismus und Verantwortlichkeit, präsentierte und diskutierte die wichtigsten Methoden und Ergebnisse der Hirnforschung, interpretierte diese Forschungsergebnisse philosophisch und innerhalb ethischer Koordinaten und reflektierte ihre Anwendung auf die Gebiete der Rechtsprechung, der Unternehmensführung sowie der Demenzforschung.

Weitere Informationen 

 

 

 

 

 

Dr. Frank Martin Brunn: Email
zum Seitenanfang/up