Home >  IFBK >

Interdisciplinary Forum for Biomedicine and Cultural Studies (IFBK)

The Interdisciplinary Forum for Biomedicine and Cultural Studies (IFBK) was founded in 2005 by Prof. Dr. Wilfired Härle (Theology) and Prof. Dr. Claus Bartram (Medicine) with a group of ten scholars from many different faculties at Heidelberg University. It central aims are to foster interdisciplinary exchange and to support projects on anthropological and ethical issues in biomedicine, cultural studies and the social sciences. It focuses in particular on the issues that arise as a consequence of culture-altering sciences and technologies.

The people and activities of the IFBK consist of an interdisciplinary research group that meets in plenary sessions, thematic work groups, joint events, support and supervision of young scholars as well as projects with secondary students.

The plenum of the IFBK is currently made up of 24 members from eight different faculties.

The IFBK is led by a five-member board comprised of Prof. Dr. Claus Bartram (Human Genetics), Prof. Dr. Dieter Dölling (Law/Criminology), Prof. Dr. Dr. Thomas Fuchs (Psychiatry, Philosophy), Prof. Dr. Helmuth Kiesel (German Language and Literature) and Prof. Dr. Klaus Tanner (Theology/Ethics). The board is chaired by directors Prof. Dr. Claus Bartram and Prof. Dr. Dr. Thomas Fuchs (Executive Director).

For each project, either permanent or short-term work groups are formed.

The office of the IFBK is located in the administrative buildings of the medical faculty. It is run by two research associates.

 

Projects

 

 

Winter Schools

  • The (non-) transparent human being: How deep into the person can we look? 2011
  • Responsibility – only an illu­sion? 2009

 


 

zum Seitenanfang/up

Startseite >  IFBK >

Interdisziplinäres Forum für Biomedizin und Kulturwissenschaften (IFBK)

Im Jahr 2005 wurde das Interdisziplinäre Forum für Biomedizin und Kulturwissenschaften (IFBK) von Prof. Dr. Wilfried Härle (Theologie) und Prof. Dr. Claus Bartram (Medizin) gemeinsam mit etwa zehn Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern verschiedener Fachbereiche an der Universität Heidelberg ins Leben gerufen. Es dient dem interdisziplinären Austausch und der Föderung wissenschaftlicher Projekte zu anthropologischen und ethischen Fragestellungen in Biomedizin, Kultur und Gesellschaftswissenschaften. Es widmet sich insbesondere Fragen, die durch die Folgen kulturverändernder Wissenschaften und Technologien aufgeworfen werden.

Zum IFBK gehören ein als Plenum tagendes interdisziplinäres Wissenschaftskolleg, die thematische Arbeit in Arbeitsgruppen, gemeinsame Veranstaltungen, die Betreuung von Nachwuchswissenschaftlern sowie die inhaltliche Arbeit mit Schülerinnen und Schülern.

Das Plenum des IFBK hat derzeit 24 Mitglieder aus acht Fakultäten.

Das IFBK wird von einem fünköpfigen Vorstand geleitet, dem Prof. Dr. Claus Bartram (Humangenetik), Prof. Dr. Dieter Dölling (Rechtswissenschaften/Kriminologie), Prof. Dr. Dr. Thomas Fuchs (Psychiatrie, Philosophie), Prof. Dr. Helmuth Kiesel (Germanistik) und Prof. Dr. Klaus Tanner (Theologie/Ethik) angehören. Den Vorsitz des Vorstand teilen sich die beiden Direktoren Prof. Dr. Claus Bartram und Prof. Dr. Dr. Thomas Fuchs (Geschäftsführender Direktor).

Für die verschiedenen Projekte werden jeweils dauerhafte oder zeitlich begrenzte Arbeitsgruppen gebildet.
Die Geschäftsstelle befindet sich im Dekanat der Medizinischen Fakultät. Sie wird von zwei wissenschaftlichen Mitarbeitern geführt.

 

Projekte

  • Das "Schulprojekt Menschenwürde" wurde paralell zum Projekt "Menschenbild und Menschenwürde" von 2006 bis 2009 an vier Gymnasien in Nordbaden durchgeführt. 

 

 

Winterschulen

  • Der (un-) durch­sichtige Mensch: Wie weit reicht der Blick in die Per­son? 2011
  • Verantwortung – eine nützliche Illu­sion? 2009

 

zum Seitenanfang/up